A Lover of Books

‘Tiny Acts of Love’ by Lucy Lawrie

Tiny Acts of Love

Black and White Publishing very kindly sent me ‘Tiny Acts of Love’ to review. This is Lucy Lawrie’s debut novel and having read it I am already really looking forward to her next book.

Cassie, a lawyer and new mum has just arrived home from hospital having given birth to Sophie only to discover that Jonathan, her husband, has made a bit of an embarrassing mistake. He converses mainly through jokes, her best friend lives on the other side of the world and the mums in the Babycraft group aren’t exactly a help. Cassie finds herself struggling, but Jonathan doesn’t seem to be paying proper attention to her and dismisses her maternal anxieties.

Five months later Cassie returns to work part-time. She bangs into ex-boyfriend Malkie. Although he dumped her years ago he still stirs up old feelings inside her. On top of all the emotional turmoil she is going through, she also finds amongst other things that she has to advise a funeral director on ghost protocol. It just gets madder and madder. Cassie is about to discover that marriage and motherhood isn’t the fairytale she thought it would be.

I had the feeling I would enjoy ‘Tiny Acts of Love’ and I wasn’t wrong. For a start off the cover caught my eye. It’s just so lovely and it tells you all you need to know about the book. The story is set in Edinburgh which brought back memories of my holiday there last year.

‘Tiny Acts of Love’ takes a real look at motherhood.   I warmed to Cassie right from the start. I’m not a mum but I could still sympathise with her. How difficult must it be when you’re married and have just had a baby only to find that an old flame comes back into your life? Though this story is primarily about Cassie it also looks at her husband and the issues he is having. There are also a number of other characters, some of whom are really interesting.

Hilarious, touching and at times sad ‘Tiny Acts of Love’ is a winner.

I give this book 5 out of 5.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “‘Tiny Acts of Love’ by Lucy Lawrie

  1. Glad I saw your disclaimer about not having kids as I don’t, either, and was thinking it was one for the Mumsnet brigade till I saw that. But you clearly enjoyed it nonetheless so I’ve put it on my wishlist. It’s on for 89p right now for the Kindle, too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,197 other followers

