A Lover of Books

Interview with Kelly Florentia

KellyAuthorPic

Kelly Florentia was very interested in an interview for my blog.  Her anthology ‘To Tell a Tale or Two’ is on a 99p promotion from tomorrow.

 

eBookTattoo_Cover

Tell me a bit about your collection of short stories which were published in February this year.

Hi Sonya, thank you so much for having me on your blog today. My anthology, To Tell a Tale or Two, is a collection of ten of my short stories. Themes cover relationships, family dramas and a couple of ghostly tales. They’re quick reads, all with subtle twists or surprise endings. It would suit anyone who hasn’t got time for a full length novel, as such, as they can dip in and out of this one at their leisure without losing the essence of a story. Having said this, some people have told me that they’ve read the entire eBook in one sitting. The age of the characters range from seventeen to eighty, so I hope it will appeal to all age groups, but it is essentially a contemporary women’s fiction read.

It’s been well received with five star reviews on Amazon and Goodreads. I’ve also had several emails from Readers telling me how much they’ve enjoyed the different plots and twists, and how they’ve found the protagonists engaging. Some have even asked if I’ll be introducing any of the characters in other stories. Greek Connection seems to be the most popular. I think this is because it’s set in a sunny location, which is quite encouraging because the opening chapters of my first novel, Betrayal (not yet published) are set in Cyprus. I don’t think Readers realise how much an author relishes receiving emails and good reviews about their work. It always makes my day and makes writing all the more worthwhile.

Do you think they would appeal to men as well as women?

Before the reviews and feedback, I’d have probably said no. But yes, men seem to be enjoying the book too, which I’m absolutely thrilled about.

Roughly how many short stories do you think you’ve written over the years?

At a guess I’d say close to a hundred, and I’m still going strong! I love reading and writing short stories. I always have and I think I always will. There’s something quite gratifying about a sharp, quick read with a satisfying or clever ending. Short stories are a lot more popular than some people may think. Breakfast at Tiffany’s is a film adaptation of Truman Capote’s novella (1958). And Alfred Hitchcock’s 1963 classic, The Birds, was inspired by Daphne Du Maurier’s story of the same name taken from her anthology, The Apple Tree (1952).  And let’s not forget the incredibly talented, award winning short story writer Alice Munro, who scooped The Nobel Prize in Literature 2013.

What are you working on now?

I’m currently working on the final edits of my second novel. It’s a romantic, contemporary drama with a subtle supernatural wave running through it. The plot revolves around a forty-something couple who’ve let their relationship slip into complacency, and how they try to get it back on track. Or do they? It has lots of twist and turns including a ‘will she, won’t she affair’. Again, it’s aimed at fans of women’s fiction but I do hope it’ll appeal to some men too.

When did you first start writing?

I started writing professionally several years ago. I had my first story published in Best magazine, which gave me an instant boost. I haven’t looked back since. My stories have appeared in women’s magazines worldwide and have been featured in several charity anthologies. But before this, I took a creative writing course with The Writers’ News. I was fortunate enough to have the exceptionally talented journalist and novelist Margaret James as my tutor. I’ve a lot to thank her for.

Describe a day in your life.

My day usually kicks off with household chores, very boring, I know, but I use the time to think up plots and ideas for my WIP. What can I say, I’m a multitasker. I then turn into a writer for a few hours (with a few Tweets and Facebook updates in-between.) Come lunchtime, I’m an athlete pounding the streets of North London (okay, trotting around the local park). I’ll return to my writing and online work in the afternoon, that’s if I’m not meeting up with my mum or friends for coffee. And finally, between six and seven I turn into a Masterchef! I love cooking my own food from scratch. My mum has given me lots of her delicious family recipes, which my husband adores!

What do you enjoy doing in your spare time?

Apart from reading, I enjoy going for long walks and catching up with family and friends over a glass of wine or two. I’m also a yoga fan, and jogging has become a bit of a passion for me.

Which type of books do you enjoy reading?

I mostly enjoy women’s fiction, but I also love psychological thrillers and some of the classics.  I’m currently rereading Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Oh, and I love reading anthologies, of course.

 

Links

You can download To Tell a Tale or Two: http://9nl.eu/dnmq  for UK

http://9nl.be/xq6k   for US

Facebook: – http://facebook.com/kelly.florentia

Twitter: – @kellyflorentia

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7915633.Kelly_Florentia?from_search=true

Website: – http://www.kellyflorentia.co.uk

YouTube Trailer: – http://youtu.be/jfLU6lguRjE

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Interview with Kelly Florentia

  1. I just had to say that I was surprised by the author’s photo as she looks really similar to Suzy Lamplugh !! Carry on….. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,437 other followers

