A Lover of Books

‘The Human Race’ by O. C. Heaton

I was interested in reviewing this book and was put in touch by Mr O. C. Heaton with Rookwood Publishing who sent me a copy.  ‘The Human Race’ is Part One of a gripping thrillogy and if you read it and like it, I feel sure you will want to go straight onto the second book.  This is not a book I would have actually chosen to buy and to be honest I wasn’t too sure of it at first but the more I read, the more I liked it.  I like giving books a chance and I always find it satisfying when I’ve read a whole book cover to cover.  So I’m really glad I stuck with this one.

The story starts off in Iceland.  Uma Jakobsdóttir has a secret, a very big one in fact which her father a famous Icelandic environmentalist had been working on but didn’t want to release.  If this secret was to fall into the wrong hands it could totally obliterate mankind.  However, two men have already discovered the secret.

Ethan Rae who is Britain’s richest man, is counting on Uma’s secret to finally seal his position as the greatest deal maker of all time.  Once Uma lets him into her secret and what she hopes to achieve by using it, he sees the potential.  They are brought together by it and face extreme danger, which includes murder.

Across the Atlantic, Samuel Reynolds III, the playboy CEO of Reynolds Air, is battling to keep the airline his granddaddy built alive.  Once the largest company in America, it is now facing bankruptcy mainly because of 911 which has crippled the airline industry.  He desperately needs this secret in order to ensure its survival.

This book was really fast paced.  I found it hard to put down at times as I so wanted to know then and there what was going to happen next.  It was really thrilling!  There are lots of twists and turns.  As I read further on I found that the pieces of the jigsaw started fitting together.

The end of this book finishes with a bit of a cliffhanger.  What will happen next I wonder?  There are some unanswered questions.

Whatever you do, don’t let the cover put you off!  I urge you to make this one of your reads of 2012.

I give this book 4 out of 5.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

