A Lover of Books

‘Small Pleasures to Save Your Life’ by Maeve Haran

This book was published by Hay House in September 2012.  On receiving it to review the first thing I noticed was the cover.  It’s a very simple design and I really like the colour.  It has a very calming effect.

The world today is constantly changing and moving so fast that we can hardly control it.  Life is stressful and it can end up leaving us feeling powerless.  Recently, the recession has forced us to cut back and make savings where possible.  But there are things we can rely on which aren’t illegal or won’t leave us bankrupt.  The small pleasures in life!  These are what keep us going on a daily basis; they are what make life worthwhile.

‘Small Pleasures to Save Your Life’ is a lovely book full of great ideas.  It describes how the little things in life can prove to be the most satisfying.  I read it from cover to cover, but it can be looked at in a number of different ways.  You may want to just browse through it or maybe allow yourself one idea per day.

There is a nice little introduction from Maeve Haran followed by a handy tip in which you are encouraged to list three good things that happened to you today.  This is a very good idea and something I shall be doing when I am having a bad day or am just fed up.

I did find that some things don’t apply to me.  For a start off, I’m not married and don’t have children.  I also felt that the section on buying shoes wasn’t really appropriate as that can become really expensive.

Some of my favourite ideas are:-

  • Pretending to Be A Tourist
  • Appreciating the Ordinary
  • Chocolate

If you’re looking for some inspiration I recommend you buy this book.

I give this book 4 out of 5.

 

For this and other great books from Hay House, check out their website http://www.hayhouse.co.uk

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

