A Lover of Books

‘The State We’re In’ by Adele Parks

The State We're In

I was very kindly sent a proof copy of this book by Headline Publishing Group.  A novel very much talked about, ‘The State We’re In’ was published on 4th July 2013.  I really wouldn’t be surprised if it becomes a bestseller.  This is the first time I have read any of Adele Parks’ novels and I am so happy that I was given the opportunity to review this book.  I loved it, loved it, loved it!

Two strangers meet on a plane going from London to Chicago.  They are the total opposite to each other.  For a start off they come from two very different family backgrounds.  Jo is a true romantic who remains forever optimistic that she will find true love, whereas Dean due to his childhood finds it very hard to put his trust in people.  It’s an unlikely association but as they get to know each other on the plane, they discover that there is a connection between them.  Dean even finds himself pouring his heart out to Jo, something he has never been able to do preferring instead to keep his past private.

This is a wonderful story which looks at relationships, marriages and broken families.  It shows what a small world this actually is and reminds us that no one is perfect, that these things happen.  Each chapter has been narrated by the main characters Eddie, Clara, Jo and Dean.

I thoroughly enjoyed ‘The State We’re In’ from the start and I found it so very hard to put down.  In fact I was up at 7 a.m. this morning reading it as I couldn’t wait to find out what was going to happen next.  I really liked Jo and just wanted her to find happiness.

This novel has been tenderly and beautifully written and will stay with me for quite a while.

I give this book 5 out of 5.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

