A Lover of Books

Competition – ‘Weaving Water’ by Ryhaan Shah

weaving_water

Cutting Edge Press has agreed to me running a couple of competitions on my blog in which I will be giving away two of their books.

Formed in 2010, Cutting Edge Press is the home of quality fiction and non-fiction titles which aim to address contemporary issues in an accessible way.

In this competition, you have a chance to win 1 of 2 x copies of ‘Weaving Water’ by Ryhaan Shah.

In 1917, the last ship taking indentured labourers from India to the sugar plantations of British Guiana sets sail, carrying with it Rampat and Parvati, a childless couple looking for a new future. During a furious storm at sea, a child is born and put into their arms as the unwed mother dies. They adopt her and call her Neela.

From the outset, Neela’s birth engenders talk of the mystery surrounding the legend of the sea goddess, Ganga. Fifteen years later, and Neela seems to imbibe some of this adoration and fear herself, viewed as both divine and human; a destroyer and a saviour.

Neela’s story, told against the backdrop of the growing racial conflict between Indians and Africans, reveals a country and a people shaped by history and mythological superstition.

Shah’s elegant, assured prose is used to great effect, incorporating magical realism into a tale that fearlessly confronts the uncomfortable truths of a country steeped in slavery and indentureship, while remaining ultimately hopeful.

To enter, just leave a comment telling me a bit about the types of books you like to read.  Do you enjoy discovering new authors?

Terms and Conditions

This competition is open to UK residents only.

The closing date is 11:59 p.m. on the 16th September 2013.

Winners will be notified within 7 days and their details will be passed on to the publisher who will send the prizes out.

Good Luck everyone! 🙂

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Competition – ‘Weaving Water’ by Ryhaan Shah

  1. carlcymru on said:

    usually american crime fiction but always open to new authors and genres

    Like

  2. Eclectic reader but anything by Pat Barker is my very favourite. Thrilled when I find a new author I like.

    Like

  3. Love to read pretty much anything but fairytales, folklores and myths are amongst my favourite reads. Like reading new authors because you never know when you might find a hidden gem of a story.

    Like

  4. JULIE D. BANKS on said:

    Yes I love to discover new authors and will read anything that appeals to me from the first page. I love thrillers/crime genre but then the following week will see me reading a biography so I would say I am pretty well rounded in my reading tastes.

    Like

  5. I used to just go for contemporary/literary fiction but have been trying to expand my horizons this year. I’ve read a few fantasy novels and have also found to my surprise that I quite enjoy steampunk…who knew?

    Like

  6. John Walker on said:

    I love to read Horror, True Crime and Crime books

    Like

  7. Thank you to everyone who entered this competition.

    Both of the winners have been notified and I have now received their names and addresses, which I have emailed to the publisher.

    Enjoy your book when it arrives.

    Sonya x

    Like

Leave a Reply

