A Lover of Books

‘A Flash of Lightning’ by Tony Drury + Competition

A Flash of Lightning

‘A Flash of Lightning’ is Tony Drury’s fourth novel.  It was published last year by City Fiction and I was sent a copy by Cathy Wright to review.  Tony Drury is a corporate financier and is based in the City of London.  I haven’t read any of his previous books, so this was a new experience for me.

Jessica Lambert works for a bank.  At nearly 38 years old she agrees with her mother that it’s time to have a baby before it’s too late.  But it’s not that easy finding the right man.  Matthew Orlando Buckingham is a city financier.  He doesn’t know it yet but the £6 million pounds he is able to raise in order for a film to be made is about to go missing.  Detective Chief Inspector Sarah Rudd has learnt that terrorists are planning to murder at least 400 people.  But where and how are they planning to do this and can Sarah prevent this from happening?

I found ‘A Flash of Lightning’ to be a thoroughly enjoyable and exciting read.  Well written, this novel gave me a good idea about how the finance world works and I felt I was learning something.  The storyline was great with a couple of really good plots.

Split into two parts, the first part includes the very interesting story of The Great Train Robbery which took place on the 8th August 1963.  At first I wondered why it was included in this novel, but all become apparent to me later.  A gripping read especially towards the end it was very hard to put this book down.

I give this book 5 out of 5.

Look out for Tony Drury’s fifth novel ‘The Lady Who Turned’ which is due to be published this Summer.

 

Below are some useful links.

For more information about Tony Drury visit his website at tonydrury.com/

Tony’s Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/tony.drury.921

You can also follow him on Twitter – @mrtonydrury

If you are on Goodreads you can find Tony here – https://www.goodreads.com/TonyDrury

City Fiction have information about all of Tony’s novels on their website.  Visit them at http://www.cityfiction.co.uk/

Their Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/pages/City-Fiction-Publishing/1434318926804533

You can follow Cathy Wright on Twitter – @cathywright17

 

Five very lucky people have the chance to win a signed copy of ‘A Flash of Lightning’.   To enter this competition leave a comment telling me whether you like lightning or not.

Terms and Conditions

This competition is open to UK residents only.

The closing date is 11:59 p.m. on the 2nd March 2014.

Winners will be notified within 7 days and their details will be passed on to Cathy Wright at City Fiction who will send out the prizes.

Good Luck! 🙂

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “‘A Flash of Lightning’ by Tony Drury + Competition

  1. Great review, I have this to read too and am looking forward to it after hearing your thoughts 🙂 xx

    Like

  2. I was reading down your review and it sounded a bit too “blokey” for my liking till you mentioned the Great Train Robbery and that piqued my interest. I saw it’s his 4th story and on Amazon it’s mentioned these characters have appeared in previous ones so I’d need to read them in order. As per usual Amazon gives no clue which order they were written so I found out on Fantastic Fiction that Megan’s Game was the first book by him so I’ve dumped that in my wishlist 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi Lynda.

    Yes, he wrote his books in the following order, ‘Megan’s Game’, then ‘The Deal’, ‘Cholesterol’, ‘A Flash Of Lightning, then, due out later this year is ‘The Lady Who Turned’. Please do put a review on Goodreads/Amazon afterwards, much appreciated 🙂 Hope you enjoy 🙂

    Cathy

    Like

  4. Pingback: Competition Time | Tony Drury

  5. Pingback: Competition Time | City Fiction

  6. leanne pert on said:

    I’ve read all 4 books so far andI think Tony’s writing is getting better with each book, the story lines are clear and easy to get into, and the characters are easy to relate to. Cant wait to get to spring for the next book. I feel withdrawal symptoms coming on

    Like

  7. It sounds like a really exciting read. And yes, I do like lightning. I used to live in a house high on a hillside in the Hong Kong countryside with spectacular views over a valley and the wonderful displays of forked lightning we got during a storm had me spending hours outside on the balcony in the most dreadful of weather!

    Like

  8. Sandra Clarke on said:

    I do love watching lightning and would love to win a copy of the book.

    Like

  9. Jane Wells on said:

    I like all type of lightning, it’s the thunder I’m not so fond of. It sounds like an exciting read.

    Like

  10. JULIE D. BANKS on said:

    Tony Drury is a new author for me, but now I have read your review of his latest book you have made me want to learn more, his is now on my list of authors/books to read list, next time I visit the book shop I will be searching for his other titles, especially as you gave ‘A Flash of Lightning’ a 5 out of 5 rating.

    Like

  11. Yes, I like lightening, so long as I can see it!

    Like

  12. Great review, I do like the sound of this book. When we holiday in Corfu, we often get storms in the night. I like nothing better than to sit on the balcony, wrapped in a blanket in the dark early hours, watching the lightening out at sea!

    Like

  13. Can’t comment on the book but enjoyed your review and loved the fact that it was her mother who decided it was time she had a baby.
    Real-life lightening? Great if it keeps its distance

    Like

  14. lindarumsey on said:

    I hate lightning, but my husband loves watching storms!

    Like

  15. Diane Carey on said:

    I’m okay if the lightning is far away. But if it is close I will give a bit of a scream and grab my hubby’s arm if he is nearby

    Like

  16. Looks really quite exciting. Like Linda my OH loves storms and I like the electric blue ones myself!

    Like

  17. Thank you for entering this competition. I have now randomly picked and contacted the lucky winners.

    Sonya 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

