A Lover of Books

Interview with Jason Mepham

Author

Jason Mepham is the author of The King Family Vampire series.  He was very interested in answering some questions for me.

 

You have just published your third novel in The King Family Vampires series. What inspired you to start writing these stories?

I started writing as a kid but only started seriously about eight or nine years ago. By this time I has read a serious amount of vampire and supernatural literature, and it is a subject that has always fascinated me. But what really inspired me or should I say who, was Anne Rice. I was a very late-comer to her set of vampire chronicles, and it was the sheer brilliance of her writing that truly inspired me to want to write too. I call Anne my “Other mum” for this reason.

How many more books are there to write?

I am currently a quarter of the way into writing book number four of The King Family Vampires. It is called Christopher. There will be one final book to close the series after this.

Who does the wonderful artwork on your covers?

So far I have had two excellent and lovely people do my front cover art.  Books one and two were original paintings by Sue Millward and book three’s cover was created by my friend Faye Davis. I am hoping Faye will do the cover art for Christopher.

If you could be a vampire for a day what would you do?

If I could be a vampire for a day I would kill as many bad and evil people as possible and make the most beautiful woman I come across into a vampire too!

Would you like to be able to give up the day job and write full time?

It would seriously become a dream come true if I could give up my factory day job and write full time. It really would.

Have you got any other writing projects planned for the future?

Do I have other writing projects planned? Yes. In fact I am working on another project right now. It’s a one-off and nothing to do with the supernatural. It is my first proper attempt at writing a serious work of fiction.

What do you enjoy doing in your spare time?

I have many interests away from writing. These include eating out, shopping, watching films, listening to music. seeing my family and spending time with my girlfriend, Sarah.

Who are your favourite authors?

There are so many great authors whom I admire and read as much of their work as possible. These include Anne Rice, of course, Richelle Mead, Rachel Caine, Karen Mahoney, Harlen Coben, Robert Goddard, S.J. Bolton, Michael Cordy and the much missed Michael Crichton.

 

You can buy the first book in the series, Lilith by clicking on this link:-

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Lilith-Jason-D-Mepham/dp/1471674681/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1401537657&sr=8-3&keywords=Jason+Mepham

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

