A Lover of Books

Interview with G. Mitchell Baker

Author_G._Mitchell_Baker,_Photo_by_Garrett_Baker,_7-2012

G. Mitchell Baker lives in the Deep South, but also enjoys living out west, from the southwest United States to western Canada. Having practiced law for more than twenty years, Baker enjoys researching and writing projects that draw him into the many genres, to include contemporary fiction, science fiction, and paranormal works.

Mitch was keen to take part in an interview for my blog.

 

Mitch, what types of books do you tend to write? 

Traditionally published in genre of Science Fiction (ANNT: Axiom, 2011); Paranormal/Greek Mythological (Lethal Believers: The Innocents, 2012)(Lethal Believers: DVM, 2013); Contemporary Adult Fiction (The Involvement of Emerson, 2013); and, Contemporary Young Adult Fiction (Kerby ‘Webb’ Webster & Kinny the Rodeo Hound, 2012) and (Soccer Tommies Baseball Mommies, 2014), I tend to write in these genres.

 

992900_626211880736317_1845785717_n

 

Tell me a bit about your latest novel.

Soccer Tommies Baseball Mommies’ was released from Master Koda Select Publishing on July 1, 2014. This release in Kindle and paperback is about skunks, tornadoes, soccer, Frisbees, and baseball. All the town’s championship teams have to figure out, is how to compete hard for a meaningful home field advantage. What more could young readers aged 10-14 ask for…? Check it out Jhttp://t.co/1Yh4AIKbZM

My last novel released in 2013 was ‘Lethal Believers: DVM’, published by Master Koda Select Publishing. This novel has attracted Five-Star reviews to include ‘Lethal Believers … a real brain teasing thriller to give Stephen King a run!’ http://tinyurl.com/cseokmn

 

LB-DVM-FINAL-01-28-14

 

Where do you get your ideas from?

I appreciate this question. The process of ideas or inspiration is something I enjoy working with on many levels. Often interviewed and having contributed articles to an e-magazine called ‘Inspiration Unlimited’ (Bangalore, India), I pursue this question when asked many different kinds of questions and when considering assignments. In my latest book, ‘Soccer Tommies Baseball Mommies’, I made an effort to describe some of the back-story leading to the ideas or inspiration for this story, and so the reader may gather some insight prior to reading through the first page. The ‘Acknowledgement’ published in the formatter reads as follows:

 

Acknowledgement

I played a lot of baseball when I was a kid. My appreciation begins with the Baseball Moms (and Dads) who attended the many games on the way to our teams competing in national tournaments.

I played on championship teams that produced National Hockey League stars (Lindy Ruff, David Babich), one Olympian (Terrence Danyluck) and we played against the likes of Wayne Babich (NHL hockey), and Tim Chen (World Champion Baseball). Tim actually played/pitched against me along the way and helped me become a decent hitter. In my estimation, there were at least three other ball players who could have played Major League Baseball. It remains my honor to have competed with such talented athletes. They continue to inspire through their proven competitive drive and sportsmanship.

It was on a sunny Saturday in San Diego that Tim (pitcher for the Taiwan National Baseball Team and design engineer for the World Champion Nissan GTP racing team), Jeff (front Office of the San Diego Padres), and I broke away to play some pick-up baseball…

Oh, and there was Kinny (1996-2012) as well. My Border Collie played hard, chased and shagged baseballs usually hit out into the middle of nowhere. She played with all her heart and for as much, my remembrance is fond.

Tim, Jeff, and I expected to play some pick-up and went to our usual park soon to look on as a little league baseball team squared off with a girls’ soccer team. They haggled over whose field it was to practice on that morning. The title ‘Soccer Tommies Baseball Mommies’ immediately came to mind, and the story was soon written as a feature length screenplay.

Years later, I must thank Jane Carroll, Author ‘On Becoming Bertha’ (Master Koda Select Publishing, 2014) for helping me adapt this young adult story from screenplay to middle-grade novel. I have to admit, Jane helped me deal with a lot of called strikes and yellow cards an author writing about baseball, and soccer and tornadoes in the same book can experience along the way. There is also Kim Mutch-Emerson, Author ‘Digitus 232’ (Master Koda Select Publishing, 2013) to thank. There are no others, who I have learned more from when it comes to writing young adult fiction.

A major purpose, when writing this story was to encourage kids to continue to play, and be decent to others, despite all the distractions that can happen along the way. Through this fun loving tale about kids and towns overcoming tragedy, I hope kids learn there is more to ‘winning’ than simply posting ‘W’s’ in the ‘Win Column’. I am thankful for all who have put up with me through the years, and hope this story brings fond memories back to those who have already made theirs, and, for those who are about to make their own. May you always be, ‘Where you are supposed to be’, and ‘Doing what you are supposed to be doing.’

Cheers,

GMB

May 26, 2014

 

I provide this example of where some of the ‘ideas’ for ‘Soccer Tommies Baseball Mommies’ came from, to extend to those interested some insight into my process for considering, writing and ultimately working to publish stories/novels that may be original and interesting. Moreover, as you may see … If there is some value, some good lessoning to pass along, I seem inspired by that opportunity as well.

 

Where do you write?

I used to write in dedicated space (i.e., writer’s cave), but more and more I like writing in open, diverse settings that have the potential to inspire. By inspiration, I mean an environment that has people with character and attribute coming and going. It can also be the setting itself that naturally inspires. A fresh environment works for me when writing original material, however, the ‘Cave’ is always open when a less stimulating environment is required for editing…

 

What are you working on at the moment?

Now I am working on the third novel in the Paranormal/Greek Mythological ‘Lethal Believers’ series entitled ‘Cave Ravens’. In this story Danta, Lamia and the Chorus of Peregrine investigate and confront an unexpected version of Mantid Tranquil in unexpected places.

Master Koda Select Publishing acquired the publishing rights to the ‘Kerby’ Young Adult series of novels (Aged 12-16). They will re-issue the ‘Rodeo Hound’ novel when I feel it is ready. I am thinking it will be ‘ready’ when the second novel, ‘Tevus Cup’ novel will be released either late 2014 or early 2015.

The ‘Kerby’ series begins with a dumb-luck, hard-nosed loner cowman who takes up his orphaned, ultra urban grandson. Together get through trials and tribulation enough to keep one another going and a growing in all the right directions. Eventually, the grandson starts meeting friends and competing in the kind of extreme sports Kerby could never have imagined.

 

Describe a day in your life.

This question reminds me of a Cheech & Chong comedy routine from years ago … I got up. I went to school. I went to class. I sat down. (Ahem, it gets wild from there on …)

For me, I have to wake up prepared to be flexible. I can be writing, promoting, working with editors, art teams … working on contracts … The travel at times. This notion of getting a book published, marketed and selling can be a complicated, unpredictable endeavor at times. Then there is the life that goes on around this rather egocentric endeavor of being an author/novelist. Thank goodness for the opportunity to get out to a jazz club once in a while … maybe a folk festival or two … and I love urban hiking and street festivals when in season. I guess I can be a regular guest on any edition of ‘Where’s Waldo…’ when I get going. Sometimes it is very nice to extract myself from the computer, so these are some of the things I would consider doing in the course of my day.

 

What do you like to do in your spare time?

Spare time is rare if I factor out writing and promoting my work. When I do get away from the computer, I enjoy cycling (Fat Tire). I love the exercise … to explore urban settings and getting into the backcountry once in a while … The other day I was (what I call) ‘Toodling’. Others may call it puttering or something like that … Riding nice and easy … Cruising … I enjoyed it a lot … Cycling is always something I’ve enjoyed and to finds ways to ride given the feeling for the day can be very nice.

 

You have to live on a desert island for a week and you are only allowed to take three items with you. What would they be?

I think I answered this question once with, “I sez to myself self-I-sez … I’ll take with me a good dose of ‘Me, Myself, and I…’

As I think on this question for this interview, I would add … “And then I would begin to look for whatever else would be kind enough to float on by…” *wink wink*

Sounds like island living to me … At least for a week or so…

 

Links

Soccer Tommies Baseball Mommies Facebook Page – https://www.facebook.com/SoccerTommiesBaseballMommies

Facebook Page – https://www.facebook.com/GMitchellBakerAuthor

Twitter – @G_MitchellBaker

Website – http://www.gmitchellbakerauthor.com/index.html

Author (Having fun on Pinterest) – http://www.pinterest.com/1gmbdelta505/

 

Amazon Links for books in print/live …

Lethal Believers: The Innocents (Kindle) – http://www.amazon.com/Lethal-Believers-The-Innocents-ebook/dp/B00BXRUU4K/ref=sr_1_1_bnp_0_main?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1363972312&sr=1-1&keywords=%27G.+Mitchell+Baker%27

Lethal Believers: DVM (Kindle) –  http://www.amazon.com/Lethal-Believers-G-M-Baker-ebook/dp/B00DTJ9NT8/ref=pd_sim_b_6?ie=UTF8&refRID=1M30PZPBWCMTCGNJ9CDK

The Involvement of Emerson (Paperback Out of Print) (Kindle Available) – http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Ddigital-text&field-keywords=Emerson%20INvolvement

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

