A Lover of Books

Interview with Karen Magill

Author

Karen Magill lives in an eclectic area of Vancouver in Canada.  She gets her inspiration from the history and stories around her.  Karen kindly took the time to answer a few questions for my blog.

 

Tell me about the type of books you write.

For my fiction works, I write paranormal. My latest series are paranormal mysteries set in Vancouver that combine historical fact with the fiction. To date, I have four published paranormal books – The Bond, A Paranormal Love Story, Let Us Play, A Rock ‘n Roll Love Story (Mystique Rising in Kindle), Missing Flowers and A Little Poison.

alp_(2b)

I have one non-fiction and that book is entitled On The Right Side, My Story of Survival and Success. This one is the story of my journey, so far, with multiple sclerosis.

ors-coverfr

 

Where do you get your ideas from?

Sometimes I can be influenced by a news article or a historical event and then I try to bring in characters and add something paranormal. Just to make it a little more interesting. For On The Right Side, I lived what happened.  When writing it, I consulted two diaries I kept when I was first diagnosed and the book grew from that.

 

What are you working on at the moment?

Besides promoting my books, I am also starting to plan the sequel to Missing Flowers and A Little Poison. That one should be out next year and will be entitled Eden Damned. As well, I am starting a career as a motivational speaker so I am working on speeches, learning PowerPoint and trying to find places I can speak at.

 

Have you got a favourite place where you do your writing?

I recently got a laptop and connected my desktop to my television. I like writing on the desktop now because I have such a big screen! When I write entries for my blog, the Vancouver Vagabond, (http://karen-magill.blogspot.ca) I love it because the photos are so large and clear now.

 

What advice do you have for anyone wishing to pen their first novel?

Just sit down and write and find the system that works best for you. Some people love to plan everything out while others just write. Get it edited again and again. Remember too that your first book may not be worthy of publication but it will be something good for you to do, to learn the discipline of completing a book.

 

Did you always want to be a writer?

I come from a family of writers and ever since I learned to put words together, I have written. I tried many things in the past but something always brought me back to writing. So I guess yes would be the answer.

 

Describe a day in your life. 

Usually I get up and check my email then maybe watch the morning news. I am on disability so I don’t go to a regular job. I spend my days working on promotion or writing or learning. Nothing really exciting.

 

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I like to walk and with my blog, I take photos of Vancouver and historical homes and places. I also enjoy curling up on the sofa and watching a good movie. Which is why I connected my desktop to my television. LOL

 

Karen Magill’s Amazon Page:-

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Karen-Magill/e/B003DI10YG/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1407444311&sr=1-2-ent

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Interview with Karen Magill

  1. Brenda Perlin on said:

    Very nice interview. Karen Magill writes beautiful books. Would highly recommend! Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

