A Lover of Books

Interview with Jane Carroll

Pictures_from_FaceBook

Jane Carroll, Author of Bertha-Size Your Life!, is a Life Coach, Registered Nurse, Reiki Master, Mother, Grandmother, and long-time student of life. She has seen the focus of her over 30 year nursing career change from illness to wellness to wholeness, a philosophy that permeates everything she does.   Jane very kindly took part in an interview for my blog.

 

You published your new book at the end of May.  Can you tell me a bit about it please?

Bertha-Size Your Life!, or Bertha as most of us call her, has been re-released by Master Koda Select Publishing. I’m really excited about being part of the MKSP family and Bertha is excited to be back in circulation.

bertha_fullcov_(3)

Bertha is a book of personal transformation that reads like a series of entertaining and humorous stories. Bertha, a zany redhead, mysteriously appears in the narrator’s life during a walk in the park. Quicker than a man can hand off a baby with a dirty diaper, she has moved into the narrator’s empty nest and the fun begins.

You never know what Bertha will think up next from flying a hot air balloon to singing to her begonia, she’s always up to something. Bertha delights in standing on her soapbox while dispensing down-home wisdom and perky advice, explaining The Law of Attraction in a refreshing, humor-filled, practical way that has the reader going aha! instead of humph!

Throw in a conniving nemesis, an antagonistic cat, lime green spandex and high-heels and you’ve got a book that’s sure to tickle your funny bone and leave you wearing your thinking cap as you read and reread each vignette.

 

Where do you get your ideas from?

Anything and everything from cleaning the gutters to sweeping the kitchen floor to digging up monkey grass can spark my attention. I suppose it is a result of years of immersing myself in inspirational and personal growth information. It’s like something totally unrelated will suddenly make it click and a Bertha story is born.

 

What are you working on at the moment?

The sequel to Bertha-Size, Becoming Bertha, is slated for release by MKSP in the fall. Where the Joys Are: Bertha’s Guided Journal is on for late summer by MKSP. And there’s a cozy mystery in the works featuring Bertha as a senior sleuth along with a zany cast of teenagers and of course, a pesky cat and lots of shoes.

 

Did you always want to write?

I first remember writing some pretty sappy poetry in about seventh grade. I always enjoyed writing and considered journalism as a college major rather than nursing but Mama was paying the tuition and she chose nursing. And the rest as they say is history. As a young wife and mother I did journal some and always dreamed of writing a book that would help women in some way. I didn’t start writing in earnest until I was around fifty and I haven’t stopped since.

 

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I love to ride my bike, read, cook, do a little bit of yard work and of course, write. But some afternoons, nothing beats a good nap!

 

Describe a day in your life.

I’m a school nurse so during the school year I get up between three and four just to have some quiet time before I leave home. I generally meditate, read something inspirational, blog, and play on social media. Most people think I’m crazy for getting up so early, but if I don’t have that time to get grounded I’m not very fun to be around. Then it’s on to work where I pass out band aids, peppermints, medicine, and lots of TLC all day. By the time I get home there’s dinner and dishes and maybe some reading before a very early bedtime. I don’t watch a lot of TV but when I do it’s either a comedy or HGTV. Bertha says there’s enough drama in my life without me watching more on TV…and I have to agree with her.

It’s summer now, so my days are a bit more relaxed…it’s still usually dark when I get up but it’s also dark when I go to bed. I have more time for writing and marketing and playing on social media.

 

Links

Bertha-Size Your Life! http://amzn.com/B00KNDIGCI

Website: http://www.janecarrollauthor.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/janecarrollauthor

Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/janecarroll10

Publisher: http://www.masterkodaselectpublishing.com

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Interview with Jane Carroll

  1. Sonya,

    Thank you so much for the awesome interview. I so appreciate it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

