A Lover of Books

Interview with Joseph V Sultana

Joseph V Sultana

Joseph V Sultana’s writing career was kick-started by losing a bet with a friend.  Now known as the ‘Accidental Author’, it wasn’t long before he was writing his first novel.  His book ‘Reapers Shadow’ is set to be made into a film.  Joe kindly took the time answer a few questions for me.

 

Can you tell me a bit about your new book please?

It’s a dark tale set in a future England that has been abandoned by the world after London was destroyed in a devastating nuclear attack in 2012. Scotland, Wales and even Cornwall have separated from the once centre of a mighty empire and all that remains is the corrupt marshal law in the form of enforcers and crime is a way of life for most.

 

How long did it take you to write?

It took about 11 months solid work but over a two and a half year period. I only had the time from my commute and lunch breaks you see.

 

Did you have to do any research for your novel?

I did.  I researched a lot on Scottish independence which took me to the Welsh independence quest and then finally the Kernow movement. A real fight from some of the Cornish people to breakaway from England. Also the layout of Launceston, couldn’t have done it without Google.

 

How do you feel about ‘Reapers Shadows’ being made into a film?

Oh I love the idea. I cannot believe how well received the book has been and the momentum that the film has picked up. The fact that stars like John Challis, Ray Quinn et al. plus the added amazement that Hollywood actors Michele Martin and Matt Wolf have signed up too. I have a couple more but not allowed to say who at this stage. Believe me when I say its amazing.

 

Would you like to be one of the actors?

Nope.  I can honestly say I have no drive for that at the moment, might do a sneaky cameo though.

 

Where do you do most of your writing?

Pret or any local coffee shop.

 

What are you currently working on?

The film production, the sequel book, audio book, graphic novel, audio drama, a possible computer game, a few short films and a couple of documentaries.

 

Does Percy the dog give good advice?

You know he is a dog don’t you?

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Interview with Joseph V Sultana

  1. I liked this. Thank you for sharing it.
    An inspirational Author, he gives us hope. Does Percy give advice… as if he’d have told you. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

