A Lover of Books

Interview with Rebecca Bradley + Competition

Ebook+cover

‘Shallow Waters’ is Rebecca Bradley’s debut novel.  I love reading crime fiction so was keen to interview Rebecca.

 

Can you tell me a bit about your book please?

I can! Shallow Waters is a police procedural crime novel with a female detective inspector protagonist, Hannah Robbins. It’s told in first person narrative for the most part so you know what’s going on inside her head, how she feels and what she’s thinking as she deals with some pretty ugly crimes and a difficult personal life. Teenagers are being murdered in the city of Nottingham but Hannah’s team soon discover that it is a crime that has its net cast much wider than their city and they find themselves up against the clock as they cross county borders trying to stop another murder.

 

Did you have to do much research for it?

I’m lucky in that I know a lot of police officers so I didn’t have to do a lot of research for this one at all. The next one is the one where research is necessary due to mode of death!

 

How long did it take you to write?

It took about a year to write, then there were some re-writes and edits with different people before it was finally published in December last year. 

 

What made you write crime fiction?

I absolutely love crime fiction. I have read practically nothing but crime from being a child. I started with the usual Enid Blyton stuff; Secret Seven, Famous Five, then moved on to Nancy Drew before finally making the leap to adult crime in the form of Agatha Christie. It was then a natural progression when it came to writing, that I would write crime.

 

Are there more books planned?

Absolutely. DI Hannah Robbins is a series character. I’m writing the second book. The synopsis is written for the third and I already know what the storyline is for the fourth. These are just for this series. I also want to write another series plus a non-crime book!

 

Where do you do the majority of your writing?

I’ve claimed the spare bedroom at home as my office. Because I’m ill, I do my writing in spurts throughout the day or even just once in the day. But I have a desk and chair and far too much crap on my desk!

 

Do you think book reviews help with sales?

I think they can. Seeing that a book has reviews as opposed to a book that doesn’t have any, is a positive, but I personally try not to read the reviews before buying a book online because it can colour my reading experience.

 

If you could start all over again would you still write books?

I would, but I would have had the guts to have started a lot younger than I did. I feel quite old to be trying to get into this world now.

 

Have you any good advice for anyone wanting to write their first book?

Keep trying and don’t give in. Don’t be disheartened. It’s those who keep going and keep trying that succeed. You won’t succeed if you give up at the first hurdle.

 

Thanks for having me on the blog Sonya.

 

About Rebecca Bradley

IMG_9071+(4)

Rebecca Bradley lives in Nottinghamshire with her family and her one-year-old Cockerpoo Alfie, who keeps her company while she writes. Rebecca needs to drink copious amounts of tea to function throughout the day and if she could, she would survive on a diet of tea and cake while committing murder on a regular basis, in her writing of course.

Once a month Rebecca hosts a crime book club on Google+ hangouts where you can live chat about a crime book everyone has read. It’s great fun. Members join in from the UK, the US, France and Australia on a regular basis. As it is online, there are no geographical boundaries and you can sit in your home to join in. You can find details of how this works on the blog http://rebeccabradleycrime.com

 

Links

Website – http://rebeccabradleycrime.com

Twitter – http://twitter.com/rebeccajbradley

Author Page – http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rebecca-Bradley/e/B00R9RVT98/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

 

Competition

One very lucky person has the chance to win an eBook copy of ‘Shallow Waters’.  To enter just leave a comment about the interview.

 

Terms and Conditions

This competition is open worldwide.

The closing date is the 6th April 2015 at 23:59 p.m.

The winner will be randomly picked and contacted within 7 days of the closing date and their details will be passed on to Rebecca Bradley.

 

Good luck! 🙂

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Interview with Rebecca Bradley + Competition

  1. Thanks for the interview, it is great to learn more about Rebecca especially as I really enjoyed Shallow Waters, the winner is in for a treat!

    Like

  2. As a fanatic of police procedural novels and a budding crime author, I am wondering about the level of information I will need in order to be able to portray a believable story. Unlike Rebecca, I don’t know many folks in the police, but if anyone had any thoughts on gathering research on police force procedures including any textbooks or websites which are valuable, please could they advise me?

    Thanks, Rachel

    Like

    • Rachel, write the story you want to write, then if you feel you need to check any specific facts, you can get a copy of the police PACE 1984 book on Amazon which rules how police have to treat suspects when stop searching and in custody etc. Blackstones also do manuals specifically for training police on policy, law and procedures, but they’re not cheap. One piece of advice I can give you is it’s spatter not splatter 🙂 Enjoy the writing!

      Like

  3. Crime fiction and tea? Rebecca sounds like my kind of person! I’ve popped over to her site and read chapter 2, which she shared, would love to read the rest of the book now.

    Like

  4. Anahita on said:

    Great interview and very inspiring!

    Like

  5. Great interview. I would love to read this book.

    Like

  6. Thanks for sharing this interview, it’s really interesting hearing all about Rebecca’s writing. Shallow Waters sounds very very good!

    Like

  7. Great book, great author, and great interview! Thanks. I loved this book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

