A Lover of Books

Interview with Katie Stephens

Print

The lovely Katie Stephens expressed an interest in being interviewed for my blog.  I thought her novel, ‘Catching Lightning’ sounded really good and wanted to know more about it.

 

Your new book ‘Catching Lightning’ sounds really interesting.  Can you tell me a bit about it please? 

Catching Lightning follows the story of Mel who has spent the past 14 years resenting her parents for abandoning her at a boarding school in England while they went back to Kenya, a country she hates, to run an orphanage and school for their charity.  A tragic accident forces her to return to Kenya for her parents’ funeral but meeting the gorgeous, English educated Sam was not part of the plan.   Finding her mother’s diaries reveals a lot of unanswered questions and the discovery of a detailed itinerary of a trip round Kenya that her parents dreamed of making with her makes Mel realise that maybe she had things wrong.  But will taking the trip make her fall in love with the man, the country, neither or both?

 

Where did you get the idea for this book from? 

I wanted to look at what would happen if you fell in love with a man who lived in a country you hated and whether love could win over hate.  I also wanted to show how secrets used to protect someone can ultimately create more problems than they solve.

 

Have you ever visited Kenya? 

Yes I was very lucky to go to Kenya in 2001.  I had the most amazing holiday there and completely fell in love with the country.  I feel very honoured to have been able to relive that holiday through writing this book.  Kenya is a beautiful country that will always hold a very special place in my heart – especially as it is where my husband proposed to me!

 

Can you relate to any of your characters? 

I think a lot of us have been in the situation where we have fallen in love with someone but know that the time and place seem so wrong.  Mel really believes that her feelings for Sam are wrong but thankfully love does find a way of making things right!

 

Are there any more books in the pipeline? 

Yes I am writing book three at the moment and it is very different from my first two as it is actually based in England.  I am enjoying writing it but am missing the chance to escape to Italy or Kenya in the way I did with my first two!

 

Describe a day in your life. 

A typical day in my life involves getting up early to get some exercising done before the family wake up.  It is then a case of getting children to the right place, at the right time, and if it’s a work day, me to the office.  If I’m not working them once the girls are at school, and I have any errands that need doing finished, I am at my computer, with my chocolate and get as much writing done as possible before it is back to the school run and afterschool activities.

 

Have any authors influenced your writing and if so who?

I’m not sure whether any authors have actually influenced my writing but I would certainly say that Carole Matthews, Lisa Jewell and Adele Parks have inspired me to put my writing out there and let people read it.

 

What do you like to do in your spare time?

As a working and writing mum spare time is limited but my Kindle goes everywhere with me so while I am parked up waiting for school or activities to finish I get some reading done.  I also love the cinema so will often sneak off during the day to watch a film.

 

About Katie Stephens

Katie Stephens

Katie Stephens works in PR and lives in Surrey with her husband Will and two young daughters.

In 2008 Katie signed herself up for a creative writing course and absolutely loved it.  She then found herself spending all her spare time (not much with 2 young children) at the computer.  Her first novel Candles on the Sand, set on the Amalfi Coast, was published in 2011 went on to become an Amazon bestseller.

 

Links

Website – http://www.katiestephens.co.uk

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Katie-Stephens-Author/222608691088931

Twitter – @KatieStephensGB – https://twitter.com/KatieStephensGB

 

‘Catching Lightning’ is available to buy on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Catching-Lightning-Katie-Stephens-ebook/dp/B00SBG7LC0/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1421491327&sr=1-1&keywords=catching+lightning

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

