A Lover of Books

Interview with Christian Jensen

Book Cover

I would like to introduce Christian Jensen to you.  He is a horror writer and his new novel, ‘Lone Survivor’ will be out soon, published by Booktrope.  Below is my interview with him.

 

Can you tell me a bit about your upcoming book, ‘Lone Survivor’ please?

It’s about a man trying to survive the apocalypse alone. He knows groups attract too much attention and has seen them fail time and time again. He’s better off alone, doing his own thing. He’s happy, if not a little lonely. Until one day he meets Bigfoot. They start an unlikely partnership that works for them both, until Bigfoot gets bitten by a zombie and turns. Now Jim, our hero, has to fight scores of the living dead, help protect a couple of damaged women that accidentally find him, and kill zombie Bigfoot. The apocalypse can be rough.

 

Are you working on any other writing projects at the moment?

I’m always working on another project. After Lone Survivor I wrote Demonic Possession in about a week. It was a blast to write and the story just flowed. Right now I’m working on another zombie novel, Prison of the Dead.

 

You have had so many novels published. How long on average does it take you to write each one?

It depends on the book, but anywhere from one to four weeks for a first draft.

 

What is your favourite genre?  

Horror has always been my favorite genre. I love reading, writing, watching, and living it.

 

Where do you get your ideas from?

Everywhere. They pop into my head at the grocery store, while I’m sleeping, eating, talking to people, and pooping. Sometimes it’s a news story or something I read that twists my imagination and gets my muse really turned on. They come from all places at all times.

 

Do you find yourself having to do much research for your books? 

I try not to because that slows down my process. I try to stick to what I know, but when research is needed I always go as deep as I can into a subject. I want to sound like I know what I’m talking about, so I don’t piss off the reader.

 

Have you got any good advice for anyone wanting to write their first novel?

Read. Read every day, read more than you write. Write every single day, even if it’s just for 15 minutes or so, set a goal every single day and beat it. Take no days off. Ever. Work tirelessly and strive to create the best worlds and characters you can.

 

What do you like to do in your spare time?

Spare time? I don’t believe in it. When I have time to myself I read and write. That’s really all I do.

 

Can you see yourself still writing ten years from now?

I see myself writing until the day I die. I’ll hopefully write my own Eulogy. It’ll be funny and sad.

 

Who are your favourite authors and have they influenced your writing at all?

Every author I’ve ever read has influenced my writing in some way. I take a little piece of them with me when I finish their books. Some of my favorites (and only some, because this could take hours and dozens of pages) are: Ray Bradbury, H.G. Wells, Falkner, Poe, Collier, Dickens, Kipling, Lovecraft, I can keep going, but those are my classical influences, the old, dead guys that shaped me when I was a kid. Later in life I was introduced to Brian Keene, Johnathon Mayberry, Richard Laymon, Bryan Smith, Jack Ketchum, Wraith James White, and dozens of others. There are still plenty of authors that are influencing me, people that got started in the industry after me are influencing me.

 

Links

Christian Jensen’s blog – http://www.horrorwritingdaddy.blogspot.com

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/ChrsitanJensenAuthor?fref=ts

Twitter – @Hororwritindad

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Interview with Christian Jensen

  1. Pingback: Guest Post by Christian Jensen | A Lover of Books

Leave a Reply

