A Lover of Books

Blog Tour – ‘Just the Way You Are’ by Lynsey James

Blog tour banner 1

‘Just the Way You Are’ was published by Carina on the 8th May 2015 as an eBook.  It is Lynsey James’ debut novel.  A number of book bloggers have been taking part in a blog tour to celebrate this book and today I am reviewing it.

Ava Clements works as a journalist.  Unlucky in life and love, Ava can’t even remember when she last went on a second date.  But things could start turning around for her if she gets to work on the dating column, a position she really wants.  Except that the office bitch gets it instead.  It’s a good thing then her two best friends, Max and Gwen are always there for her when things go wrong.

Ava has known for ages why dates with other men don’t develop into more.  You see, Ava is in love with someone else who as far as she knows she has never met.  It all started six years ago when she received a love letter from a secret admirer.  Not knowing his name, Ava refers to him as ‘Mr Writer’.  When the letters stopped she was left heartbroken.

The letters suddenly start up again and this time Ava is determined to find out exactly who is writing them.  Will she discover who her secret admirer is?

I thought that ‘Just the Way You Are’ was a really good read.  There were some truly wonderful characters, one of my favourites being Ivy.  She was just such an amazing woman who made a huge impact on Ava and vice versa.  I loved reading about Ivy’s life and I so wanted things to work out for her.

It didn’t take me long to work out who the letter writer was.  For Ava though it understandably wouldn’t have been that easy being that she was lost in her hopes and dreams.  She certainly had a bit of an adventure trying to solve the mystery though.

The title of the book has had Barry White’s song going around in my head and even now it’s still there.  The words in fact are appropriate.

I give this book 4 out of 5.

 

About Lynsey James

Lynsey James

I was born in Fife in 1991 and have been telling people how to spell my name ever since. I’m an incurable bookworm who loves nothing more than getting lost in a good story with memorable characters. I started writing when I was really young and credit my lovely Grandad- and possibly a bump on the head from a Mr Frosty machine- with my love of telling stories. I used to write my own episodes of Friends and act them out in front of my family (in fact I’m sure I put Ross and Rachel together first!)

A careers adviser at school once told me writing wasn’t a “good option” and for a few years, I believed her. I tried a little bit of everything, including make-up artistry, teaching and doing admin for a chocolate fountain company. The free chocolate was brilliant. When I left my job a couple of years ago, I started writing full-time while I looked for another one. As soon as I started working on my story, I fell in love and decided to finally pursue my dream. I haven’t looked back since.

When I’m not writing, eating cake or drinking tea, I’m daydreaming about the day Dylan O’Brien FINALLY realises we’re meant to be together. It’ll happen one day…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

