A Lover of Books

Interview with Jane Isaac

Book cover

Congratulations to the lovely Jane Isaac whose book ‘Before It’s Too Late’ is out today.  To coincide with the release of Jane’s latest novel I interviewed her.

 

Firstly, congratulations on your new book.  Can you tell me a bit about it please?

Thank you. Before It’s Too Late opens with the kidnap of Chinese student, Min Li, who is walking the dark streets of Stratford upon Avon following an argument with her boyfriend. We follow her story as she is kept captive in a disused pit in the Warwickshire countryside, and the police investigation through the eyes of Detective Inspector Will Jackman as he seeks to find her. When another student is kidnapped, Jackman finds himself in a race against time to track down the kidnapper.

 

Where did you get your ideas from?

I like to play with the idea of putting ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances. I’ve always been a great people-watcher and I like to imagine the ‘what if’ scenario: What if we were taken out of our comfort zone? How would we react? I’m fascinated by how detectives investigate too and like to write stories partly through the eyes of a lead detective, and partly through the point of view of someone else affected by the crime, so we see the case from both sides.

 

What sort of research did you need to do?

One of the nicest things about novel research is the people you meet along the way. For Before It’s Too Late I spent a lot of time with retired and serving detectives (which is always fun) and read a lot of true crime encircling kidnappings to find out how the victims really felt so that I could emulate some of this in Min’s incarceration. I also spent a lovely afternoon sitting under a tree in a local park with a Chinese student liaison officer from our nearby college who gave me a real insight into how students feel and behave when they come over here to study, and the cultural differences they face. Field trips to Stratford featured highly too and I trudged over the Warwickshire countryside and wandered the streets of the town. I also engineered many family weekends away there – book research can be such a hardship sometimes!

 

How long did it take you to write this book?

It always takes a lot longer than I imagine it will do: Probably about eighteen months from start to finish.

 

Can you relate to any of your characters?

My main characters always feel real to me and I often feel bereft when I finish the novel and have to leave some of them behind. I hope to work with DI Will Jackman again though – he’s a hopelessly addictive!

 

Have you got any other writing projects on the go?

I’ve recently sent outlines for two new novels to my editor, so I’m waiting with bated breath to see if she likes them!

 

Would you ever consider trying out a different genre?

The thought has crossed my mind. Maybe in the future, but I’m so passionate about the suspense and thriller genre that it feels the right place for me right now.

 

Do you read a lot?

Of course! Reading is an essential part of the writing process for me, and fiction provides a wonderful release too. I’ve just finished Normal by Graeme Cameron and am about to start Snowblind by Ragnar Jonasson.

 

Do you prefer e-readers or printed books?

E-readers are so convenient when out and about or away on holiday, but I do love the feel and the smell of a printed book.

 

What are your thoughts on social media?

Social media is a wonderful medium to meet new friends and share writing tips and information on books. It can be addictive though and since I’m particularly prone to procrastination (I’m sure I have a gene!) I have to force myself to switch off every now and then to make sure I make time for writing too.

 

About Jane Isaac

Author Pic

Author of An Unfamiliar Murder (Nominated as best mystery in the eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook awards) & The Truth Will Out – selected as ‘Thriller of the Month – April 2014’ by E-Thriller.com . New title, Before It’s Too Late, will be published by Legend Press on the 1st of June 2015.

Web:  www.janeisaac.co.uk

Twitter – @JaneIsaacAuthor

 

Competition

To celebrate the publication of Jane Isaac’s new book, I am running a competition in which one very lucky person will win a paperback copy of ‘Before It’s Too Late’.  To enter just leave a comment telling me why you want to read this book.

 

Terms and Conditions

This competition is open to UK residents only.

The closing date is 11:59 p.m. on the 15th June 2015.

The winner will be randomly selected and notified of their win within 7 days of the closing date.  Their details will be passed on to Legend Press who will send the prize out.

 

Good luck! 🙂

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Interview with Jane Isaac

  1. read one of Janes other books-very good.Love to read her latest.thanks for running comp

    Like

  2. I haven’t read any of Jane’s books before but I love crime thrillers and really like the sound of this one. Thank you for the giveaway.

    Like

  3. I want to read this book because Jane is an amazing author. Her books suck you in and hold you hostage until the last page is read. She is very talented yet as down to earth as the girl next door.

    Like

  4. Huge thanks for hosting me on your lovely blog, Sonya, and for running the giveaway competition. So very kind of you.

    Thanks also to everyone who left kind messages. I’m very touched by your kind words – I hope you enjoy Before It’s Too late!

    All Best,

    Jane

    Like

  5. I want to read to see how this will all play out in the quiet of Shakespeare’s home town!

    No seriously, I like the idea of taking people out of their comfort zones. I loved MJ Arlidge and Eeny Meeny when the author put two people into situation of one of you lives, one dies.

    And this would be my first novel by Jane.
    Thanks

    Like

  6. I don’t normally read this genre but so many other bloggers are saying how good it is I really think I should read it too! Fingers crossed and many thanks for the opportunity to enter.

    Like

  7. Sue Harrison on said:

    Sounds intriguing and set in a very literary part of the country

    Like

  8. I love crime fiction and not many are set in Stratford upon Avon, in fact I can’t think of another one that I’ve read set here.

    Like

  9. I’d love to read this. It’s great to support local authors and Jane seems so lovely on the book club over on Facebook. So pleased to see the reviews and looking forward to reading it.

    Like

  10. I would love to read this book because I love mysteries and it sounds like the Author has done loads of research to make this book authentic. It sounds excitingly excellent.
    Amanda.

    Like

  11. My sister (northerlass73/northern crime ) is always raving about how good you are and I’d like the chance to read your book before her so I can tell her just how good it is.

    Like

  12. Thank you to everyone who entered this competition. I have just randomly picked and notified the winner of their win, so do check your inboxes.

    Best wishes

    Sonya x

    Like

Leave a Reply

