A Lover of Books

Archive for the day “June 19, 2015”

Guest Post by Erin Lawless

Somewhere only we Know hi-res

‘Somewhere Only We Know’ was published on the 11th June 2015 by HarperImpulse.  The lovely Erin Lawless has written a guest post about the main characters for my blog.

~~~~~~~~~~

Somewhere Only We Know is the story of the spirited Nadia Osipova and the downtrodden Alex Bradley, but it’s a lot more than your usual ‘boy meets girl’ and ‘opposites attract’ tale…

Russian-born Nadia has been living in the UK since she was a pre-teen, but with the political climate the way that it is there are definitely no more visa extensions forthcoming… She’s got all her hopes pinned on one last appeal before deportation and she’s trying to stay positive. But on the other hand, just in case, it’s probably prudent to make sure she spends the summer visiting all of her favourite places, and doing all the things she never got around to, just in case…

Alex joined the Home Office’s graduate scheme after university hoping to get some experience on his CV and some money in his bank account before moving on to more exciting things. More than half a decade later and he’s still there, cringing through the same weekly team meetings, being passed over for all the promotions and picking through an unending stream of visa application letters. Nadia’s is the only one that he ever remembered.

And then, quite by chance, the two meet, and an unlikely relationship is sparked. Nadia decides on a whim to take the tentative Alex under her wing and invites him to join her as she makes her way through her London ‘bucket list’. Alex – in equal parts horrified and fascinated by this whirlwind of a girl – decides not to tell her that he once saw her visa application and to go with the flow of this unexpected friendship.

And that unexpected friendship grows through the summer, through half-fictious boyfriends for Nadia and Alex’s painfully unrequited love for his flatmate’s girlfriend, through near-misses and almost-kisses. Nadia’s court date looms. Will Alex pull himself out of his rut long enough to realise what he has with Nadia before it’s too late…?

 

About Erin Lawless

Erin and Best Thing paperback smile

Erin Lawless lives a happy life full of wonderful friends, in love with a man who buys her books instead of flowers. To mix things up a little, she writes books where friends and lovers hit obstacles and (usually) overcome them. When she’s not doing that she reads absolutely everything she gets her hands on, spends an inordinate amount of time in pyjamas and runs a fun-but-informative blog on British history.

 

Links

Website – http://www.erinlawless.co.uk

Twitter – http://www.twitter.com/rinylou

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/erinlawlessauthor

Goodreads – http://www.goodreads.com/rinylou

Blog Tour – ‘Death Night’ by Todd Ritter

Death Night

‘Death Night’ by Todd Ritter is out on the 25th June 2015, published by Avon.  Today I am taking part in a blog tour for which I am posting an extract from the book, but first here’s the book blurb.

 

Book Blurb

24 hours: that’s all they have to stop a killer in his tracks… Perfect for fans of Gregg Hurwitz and P.J. Tracy.

Two things Perry Hollow Police Chief Kat Campbell never thought she would do again

Enter a burning building, and lay eyes on Henry Goll, the man who was trapped inside with her the last time she was in one. So Kat’s on high alert when, barely a year after the dust settled around the Grim Reaper killings, both happen on the same day.

She’s jolted awake at 1 a.m. by a desperate phone call telling her Perry Hollow’s one and only museum—home to all the town’s historical artefacts—has been set on fire. Arriving at the scene, Kat catches just a glimpse of Henry’s face among the crowd before she’s rushed into the charred building, only to find the museum curator dead…bludgeoned, not burned.

Kat has lived through some tense moments and seen some gruesome crimes, but the next twenty-four hours will be the most dangerous of her life as she and Henry seek out a killer and the motivation behind these terrifying crimes.

 

Extract

The first thing she saw was a body on the floor. It was a man, slumped on his side and facing the far wall. Blood matted his hair and oozed from beneath his head in a circular pool that crept across the floorboards.

Even without seeing his face, Kat could identify him. She rushed to his side and, despite already knowing that he was dead and gone, checked his wrist for a pulse. When she inevitably didn’t feel one, a heaviness flooded her heart. Yet another casualty in a day that was full of them.

“Who did this to you?” she whispered. “And why —”

She stopped speaking as her gaze flicked to the dark corner nearest the body. Something was there, shrouded in the shadows.

A propane tank.

It was small, just like the one hooked up to the gas grill in her backyard. The cap had been removed, replaced with a grease-smeared handkerchief that soaked up the liquid inside. The gas that leaked out was a noxious vapor that made Kat dizzy.

She glanced in the opposite corner. It also contained a propane tank. As did the room’s other two corners. Each tank was the same. Caps off. Stuffed with rags. Waiting to be lit.

A mere spark on one of the rags could make an entire tank explode. That would set off a chain reaction. Explosion after explosion after explosion.

The whole room had been turned into a bomb.

And Kat was now standing right in the heart of it.

 

24 Hours Earlier

Kat was dreaming about Henry when she heard the sirens. She had no idea why. It’s not as if she dwelled on him so much during her waking hours that it invaded her subconscious at night. In fact, it had been weeks since she thought about Henry, months since she had heard from him and a full year since she last saw him.

Yet there he was, front and center in her dream. They were in a nondescript room so dim and vast that Kat wasn’t sure if it was a room at all. Dreams were like that. Ceilings not supported by walls. Floors as malleable as wet sand. The only thing concrete about their surroundings was the table in front of them — white Formica as bright as a smile in a toothpaste commercial.

On the table were two large sheets of paper, thin and translucent. Henry, staring at his swath of paper, frowned.

“I don’t know how to do this.”

“It’s easy,” Kat said. “I’ll show you.”

She lifted a corner of her sheet to the center, cementing the fold with a crease. Henry followed suit. They did it again, this time simultaneously, with an upper fold.

“See,” she said. “I told you it was easy.”

 

‘Death Night’ can be pre-ordered on Amazon:-

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00S5LDX3M/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1434689193&sr=1-1

Post Navigation

%d bloggers like this: