A Lover of Books

Guest Post by Sharon McKee of Dilliebooks

Logo

I would like to introduce you all to Sharon McKee.

Publisher - Sharon

Sharon has written a guest post for my blog about Dilliebooks, a brand new independent publisher of eBooks.

 

Dilliebooks – doing things differently

My earliest memories include being told off at meal times for reading every word on any label or packaging on the table (amazing how fascinating cereal boxes can be!) and begging my infant school teacher to let me take my exercise book home so I could carry on writing stories over the weekend.

My love of reading and writing led me to a career in journalism, publishing and then in later years I moved into PR, eventually setting up my own business. Although I love fiction and have done creative writing courses, my own published writing has mainly been non-fiction articles for magazines, newspapers and websites.

In 2012 I did something I didn’t think I’d ever do and trekked to Machu Picchu in Peru to help raise money for Breast Cancer Care. Following that, I did something else I didn’t think I’d ever do and wrote a book about it!

I started to consider options for publishing it. I’m an avid ebook reader and lover of technology, but wasn’t sure about self-publishing, so I decided to look for an independent publisher who only published ebooks.

After a lot of research I couldn’t find the kind of publisher I was looking for. I wanted an independent publisher which had the best of the traditional model (request submissions, have quality criteria and the possibility of rejection, but work with their selected authors including giving editorial, production and marketing support – and pay them a fair royalty) and combine that with the opportunities that digital brings (creativity, efficiency, speed, easy global reach, new ways of marketing, engaging with readers, online opportunities).

It was also clear that ebooks were still suffering from perceptions of being second rate to print. I felt that somehow the opportunities technology offers to do things differently didn’t seem to be being explored to their full advantage.

Taking all this on board and after even more researching and in depth discussions with an ex colleague from the publishing world, we agreed that there was a gap here. So we decided to fill it.

We launched Dilliebooks in August, an independent ebook publisher looking to do things differently. We aim to blend the best from the traditional world of publishing with that from the most modern. Our ethos is one of collaboration with both writers and readers. We work with our authors giving them all the support needed and expected from a publisher – including editorial, book production and marketing expertise. We’ve developed the Writing Desk, our authors’ portal which we use both for working on books together and also for the writers to have control over their own promotional pages.

We’ve launched with a variety of non-fiction ebooks and welcome submissions directly from previously unpublished writers, those who have self-published, or been published before by traditional companies. We also don’t want to be too constrained by putting labels or genres on books – we’re interested in anything that makes us laugh, cry (in a good way!), learn, think differently, raise our eyebrows – or make us go ‘wow’!

Following our launch, which included a live Google Hangout with the authors all in different parts of the country, we’re focusing on building our presence, increasing our list of great ebooks and developing our platform to engage more with readers.

This is just the beginning for us and we’re very excited about the opportunities we have to do things differently with digital. Watch this space…!

To find out more go to www.dilliebooks.com or contact Sharon@dilliebooks.com

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

