A Lover of Books

Interview with Robert Enright

Author Photo

Robert Enright self-published his debut novel, ‘One by One’ earlier this year.  He has recently signed up with Urbane Publications and has a book coming out next autumn.  I asked Robert some questions.

 

Tell me a bit about your debut novel, ‘One by One’.

One by One is a gritty, violent revenge tale about one man’s quest to avenge his wife, who falls victim to a notorious crime gang. I wanted to write a revenge story where the protagonist could not only match the bad guys, but maybe even exceed them with regards to his methods.

Some of it was a little tricky to write as it is graphic in its depiction of violence and how it only leads to more, however I feel confident that I wove a real love story that drives Lucas, the hero, onwards on his quest for vengeance. Also, as a big fan of action and revenge movies, it was great fun writing some of the fight scenes!

Book Cover

How long did it take you to write?

It took me just under a year from start to finish. I did however, write it as a movie script the year before which I guess is a little cheating as I already had the storyline and large parts of dialogue already written. However, weaving a 97 page script into a novel of 129,000 words was quite the task.

 

What does self-publishing involve?

A lot of hard work and knowledge of Microsoft Word! The slightest mistake format wise and the book looks like someone has shaken it. So definitely getting clued up on formatting. I downloaded a couple of free books on my Kindle that were step by step guides and they really helped.

Also be prepared to slog it out. There are millions of books out there and a large number of them are independent authors with the same dream. So making sure you find the right interest groups, the right Facebook groups – it can make a huge difference.

 

Congratulations on signing with Urbane Publications.  Can you tell me a bit about ‘Doorways’?

Thank you very much. I still cannot believe that this time next year, I will be holding a hard copy of my book. It still hasn’t sunk in and I know how lucky I am.

‘Doorways’ is hopefully the first novel in the ‘Bermuda’ Jones series. It is about an agency which deals with a world that runs parallel to ours. The inhabitants of that world are granted asylum in ours, however they are monitored by the organisation Bermuda works for. The catch is, only a select few humans, who have a gift/curse known as ‘the knack’ can see them. Bermuda is the anomoly, as he is the only recorded human who can physically interact with them.

A pattern emerges of people going missing from places they physically cannot and Bermuda is assigned the case. He and his partner, a warrior that has defected from this parallel world begin to uncover a greater threat to our world and face a race against time to stop it.

 

Where did you get the idea for this book from?

I honestly do not know. I am a big sci-fi, comic book geek. I enjoy a good story and this one has developed from a private investigator with a medical condition to a whole organisation and different world. I just let my mind wander and eventually, big pieces of the puzzle emerge and they go down on paper and the idea truly took off. I think once I decided to introduce another world, the idea took over and just grew.

 

You have said ‘Doorways’ is hopefully going to be the first book of a series.  How many more are you planning to write?

I currently have, beyond ‘Doorways’, another four Bermuda books planned, and potentially have the idea for another one. I do have definitive ending to the whole story, yet how many cases we go through to get there depends on how many people enjoy them and how many ways I can keep the stories fresh.

 

Do you see any of your books being made into a TV series in the future?

I would never rule it out. The idea has a lot of things going for it, however, just having it out as a book is beyond anything I ever thought I would achieve.

If they do make it as a TV show, I know my cast! Haha!

 

Have you got any other writing projects planned?

I have a ‘to write list’ which has in total, 33 books on it not including One by One and Doorways. Five of those ideas have come in the last 4 months so it just keeps getting bigger. My brother, who is an independent games designer (Windy Beard Games) has approached me to write a story for an upcoming game and I have designs for 2 more revenge books to compliment One by One as a revenge trilogy.

It never stops!

 

What advice do you have for anyone wanting to write their first novel?

Literally, just do it. I don’t mean to sound like Nike, however it will not write itself. About four years ago, my brother and I saw an advert for a run of the mill, terrible Adam Sandler film. I started whinging about how rubbish like that gets made and my brother made the good point: because someone wrote it

There is no point talking about it unless you are going to get on with it. It will not happen overnight and sometimes it can be a bit of a slog. But if you can put the hard work in, you will get so much out of it.

 

Describe a day in your life.

I usually wake up tired because I really should go to bed earlier. I go to my job (such fun times) and then when I get back, I regularly exercise, ensure I get an hour of writing in and then usually chill out with some TV, a film or Xbox. The lovely lady has gotten me into The Apprentice this season, so I watch that on Wednesdays.

 

Who are your favourite authors?

I have a number of authors that I avidly read. Justin Cronin has written my favourite book, The Passage and its sequel, The Twelve. City of Mirrors, although 2 years delayed, has been confirmed for next year so I cannot wait. Big, heavy books but never has a vampire/wasteland/end of the world story been so compelling.

Others such as Dennis Lehane and Michael Connelly are a given. I have been reading Leigh Russell’s Geraldine Steel books and am looking forward to her spin off series. I have met Leigh a couple of times and she is a real inspiration and is always so lovely and encouraging. I highly recommend her.

I have become acquainted with a number of authors this year. We are a crazy bunch but they are all so talented and great to chat to. I cannot recommend Karen Long, Tim Adler and Paddy Magrane enough if you want a good crime thriller. If you want to be creeped out, then I suggest picking up Hellbound by David McCaffrey. All of them are must read authors for me from now on!

 

What do you like to do in your spare time?

Usually wish for more spare time!

I do keep very busy. I work a full time job so a lot of spare time is taken up with writing and other book related things. I like to keep healthy and exercise regularly. Beyond that, I like reading, films, TV, gaming and winding up my lovely lady. The usual stuff really.

 

Author Bio

Born and raised in North West London and now residing in Hertfordshire, Robert Enright has been writing for over 10 years. His debut novel –ONE BY ONE – was self published on Amazon in March 2015, receiving critical acclaim and was nominated for Books Go Social Book of the Year 2015. The violent, revenge thriller gave Rob a path into crime fiction, but the constantly embraced geek within him went a different way.

2016 will see the release of DOORWAYS – published by Urbane Publications – the first in the Bermuda Jones series, a dark sci-fi about an agency dealing with the threat of a parallel world. He can’t wait to write the whole series – if he can put down his Xbox controller or his Nerf Guns!

 

Links

‘One by One’ Amazon Link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/One-Robert-Enright-ebook/dp/B00UUBNRHW/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/robenrightauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/REnright_Author

Urbane Publications Author Page: http://urbanepublications.com/book_author/robert-enright/

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Interview with Robert Enright

  1. Great interview Sonya and lovely to meet you Robert. I like the sound of One by One – it sounds like my kind of read so I will go and check it out. Looks like you have plenty to keep you busy for a good long while Robert and congratulations on signing with Urbane Publications.

    Like

  2. Hello Georgia,

    Thank you very much for the kind words. Sonya asked some great questions and I hope people found the interview interesting.

    I hope you enjoy One by One should you decide to read it (I obviously think you should hehe) and lovely to meet you too!

    Rob
    x

    Like

  3. I love the concept for the Bermuda Jones series, an alien witness protection program … wow. Maybe Bermuda Jones is assigned to protect them.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Guest Post by Rob Enright | A Lover of Books

Leave a Reply

