A Lover of Books

‘Dancers in the Wind’ by Anne Coates

dancers-in-the-wind

‘Dancers in the Wind’ was published on the 13th October by Urbane Publications.  I was very kindly sent a proof copy to read and review.

This story is set in 1993.  Hannah Weybridge is a freelance journalist and single mother.  Commissioned by a national newspaper to write an article on the notorious red light district in Kings Cross, Hannah interviews a prostitute called Princess and a police inspector in the vice squad, Tom Jordan.

When Princess turns up at her house badly beaten up and barely recognisable, Hannah finds herself in a very difficult position and has to decide quickly what to do for the best.  She soon finds herself drawn ever deeper into a world of deceit and violence and knows that she must do her utmost best to expose the truth whilst staying alive.  Will she succeed in her quest?

I thoroughly enjoyed ‘Dancers in the Wind’.  I loved the writing style and the element of suspense throughout.  The majority of the chapters were very short but I felt that this just added to the excitement.  I also absolutely loathe being unable to finish a chapter in one sitting or being interrupted halfway through it so the shorter chapters were better in that sense too.

I really liked Hannah Weybridge and thought she was a gutsy lady.  I don’t think she realised just what she was getting herself into in helping Princess and I feared for her and her adorable daughter.  I also liked Tom Jordan but like Hannah wasn’t too sure about him for quite a while.  I felt so sorry for Princess who hadn’t exactly had a great life and for others like her.

Anne Coates has written several non-fiction books and a number of short stories.  ‘Dancers in the Wind’ is actually her first novel but you would never guess it.  Anne writes with such confidence, it’s as if she’s been writing crime fiction for ages.  I also liked the fact that real events are used to base her stories on.

I bought a copy of ‘Dancers in the Wind’ at Anne’s wonderful book launch and it’s one I will certainly treasure.  At the end of the book you can read the first chapter of Anne’s next novel, ‘Death’s Silent Judgement’ which is the sequel to ‘Dancers in the Wind’, due out next Spring  I loved the opening to it and am already intrigued.

I give this book 5 out of 5.

 

‘Dancers in the Wind’ is available to buy from Urbane Publications:-

http://urbanepublications.com/books/dancers-in-the-wind/

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “‘Dancers in the Wind’ by Anne Coates

  1. Pingback: My Top 10 Books of 2016 | A Lover of Books

Leave a Reply

