A Lover of Books

‘Someone Is Watching’ by Joy Fielding

someone-is-watching
‘Someone Is Watching’ is out today in paperback and as an eBook, published by Zaffre Publishing. I was very kindly sent a copy to review.

Bailey Carpenter is young, confident and a very savvy private investigator. Or at least she was. A violent attack leaves her living in fear and crippled with paranoia. Bailey is a prisoner in her own home, totally unable to leave her Miami high-rise apartment.

Everywhere Bailey looks she sees her attacker, including in the apartment directly opposite her where she is sure someone is watching. Is her mind playing tricks on her or is something more sinister at play?

I have never read a book by Joy Fielding before. I hadn’t even heard of her! One of the joys of blogging and reviewing is that you get to discover loads of new authors including ones who have written lots of books. I thought ‘Someone Is Watching’ to be a gripping and exciting read. I liked the writing style and I think the author has portrayed what Bailey Carpenter went through after being raped really well. There was much more to this story than I thought there would be which I was pleased about as at first I feared that it would drag on a bit. I have to say I was really quite surprised and shocked by the ending.

I liked Bailey and hoped that she would be able to get on with life eventually. She naturally wanted to find her attacker and took some risks which could have landed her in a lot of trouble. Though I understood why she did what she did, I could have given her a good shake at times. I took an instant liking to her niece, Jade. She was wise beyond her years and was really good for Bailey.

‘Someone Is Watching’ is a psychological thriller which will keep you in suspense.  It will have you turning the pages.

Will I read any more books by Joy Fielding? I certainly hope to.

I give this book 4 out of 5.

 

‘Someone Is Watching’ is available to buy from Amazon UK:-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Someone-Watching-Joy-Fielding/dp/1785762532/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1480545491&sr=1-1

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

