A Lover of Books

Guest Post by Robert Enright

I would like to welcome Robert Enright back to my blog  Last year I read and reviewed the wonderful ‘Doorways’ and I am still waiting patiently for the next book in the series.  Robert has written a guest post for my event.

 

Doorways: A new chapter

I can’t believe it’s been almost 5 months since Doorways has been published. It may not seem like a long time, but considering the book actually came out over a year after signing the contract, my concept of time has rapidly changed. And now, knowing that Doorways is sat on the shelves in places such as Foyles and Waterstones, it feels like a new chapter in my life has begun.

But before all that, let me introduce myself. I am Robert Enright, author and a recent member of the 30 club! I have been writing since I can remember, be it silly stories when I was a kid or roleplaying games during my (admittedly uncool) teens. It was when I hit 17 that I started knuckling down, properly designing characters for a comic book series and planning stories. Then I spent the next 7 to 8 years swinging from idea to idea, like Tarzan through the jungle. Then my brother gave me a boot up the backside and I started writing seriously.

First book, One by One, was met with some great critical acclaim, scoring high ratings with every reviewer who let me grace their blog and it changed my life. Not only did it show people I could do it, it showed me that I could. I pitched it to Matt, but he was more interested in Doorways, which I hinted at in my email. A phone call and a few beers later and I had signed on the dotted line, with only 4 chapters and a concept. It was daunting, because now someone else was backing my idea and I was contractually obliged to provide a good book.

Well hopefully I did. The critical acclaim that Doorways has achieved has been nothing short of mind blowing, purely because it is such a weird book. One by One was a straight revenge story, whereas this is an Urban Sci-Fi, Mystery, Crime Thriller, Buddy Cop, Paranormal Investigation. So yeah….quite a tricky one. And for my book tour, I had a batch of some of the most talented and highly regarded CRIME reviewers. None of them read Sci-Fi and many were fairly sceptical, agreeing to read it based purely on One by One (and NOT because I sent them money. Which I didn’t….because I have none!)

I almost cried at the response. Every single one of them gave Doorways a 5 Star review, all of them perplexed that they had enjoyed a Sci-Fi novel as much as they did. That was what made me smile the most, the fact that I got people to not only experience a new type of story, but to actually enjoy it. If you follow me on social media, you will know I’m pretty nerdy. Comics, computer games, films….I love a lot of Sci-Fi and Doorways was such a passion project for me, as it allowed me to create my own worlds, with their own rules and laws. The fact that Argyle, the ‘Other’ from the Otherside is such a favourite was amazing to hear.

What next? Well Bermuda is coming back!! I am nearly halfway through the sequel which see’s our hero stop decimating London and destroy Glasgow instead. I have a comic book in the works (OH YEAH!!) and whisper it, but we may be seeing One by One reach the shelves aswell. But for now I will go back to writing and slowly panicking at my first book event coming up later this month, before I head to Waterstones in April for my own evening. Seriously…..somebody pinch me!

I would also like to thank every single reader, writer, blogger and reviewer for the continuous support and inspiration you bring to writers like myself. It means more than these words I’m writing. Also, make sure you follow Sonya on Twitter because her blog and reviews are AMAZING!!

Rob 🙂

 

‘Doorways is available from:-

Urbane Publications – http://urbanepublications.com/books/doorways

Amazon UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Doorways-Bermuda-Jones-Case-File-ebook/dp/B01LOO18EW/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1489226001&sr=1-1&keywords=doorways+by+robert+enright

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

