A Lover of Books

Blog Tour – ‘Death in Dulwich’ by Alice Castle

‘Death in Dulwich’ was published on the 6th September 2017 by Crooked Cat Books. It is the first book in the London Murder Mystery series. I was invited to take part in this blog tour by the lovely Emma Mitchell and I am delighted to be closing the tour along with two other bloggers. Read on for my review.

Beth Haldane has her hands full, what with a bouncy young son, her cat and making ends meet. She adores her home in plush London suburb Dulwich, but things there aren’t cheap. So when Beth gets a job as assistant archivist at top local school Wyatt’s she is thrilled, though she does fear that she won’t be up to it. Little does she know what is about to happen though.

Beth makes a hideous discovery on her very first day at work and finds that she is a prime suspect. She sets out to clear her name by doing some investigating herself and along the way encounters a number of characters. Even in the nicest of places the nastiest secrets can lurk.

When I was asked if I wanted to take part in this blog tour I jumped at the chance. I liked the sound of this book, plus I don’t live all that far from Dulwich so naturally I was interested.

I really enjoyed reading ‘Death in Dulwich’. I knew from the very first page that I would like it. The words flowed easily and I found that this was an easy story to follow. The author even mentioned a particular supermarket in two different places, both of which I know.

I liked Beth Haldane from the very start. She came across as such a lovely person who hadn’t had it very easy. In taking the job at Wyatt’s she would be gaining experience and bringing a little bit more money in. Naturally she wanted the very best for her son, Ben. It’s always hard when you start a new job, but the last thing you expect is for a colleague to be murdered on the first day you’re there. But that’s exactly what happened to Beth.

I admired Beth for carrying out her own investigation especially as she was risking her own safety. I had my suspicions of who the killer was but at the same time there did seem to be other people who had a motive.

If you like cosy crime then ‘Death in Dulwich’ is for you. It’s a classic whodunit. The second book in the series is being published next year and I am very much looking forward to it.

I give this book 4 out of 5.

 

About Alice Castle
Alice Castle had a long career as a feature writer on national newspapers including the Daily Express, The Times and The Daily Telegraph before becoming a novelist. After a day writing about her prime suspects, she loves nothing better than curling up with a murder mystery at night. Alice grew up in south London and, after a brief stint in Brussels (where her first novel, Hot Chocolate, is set) she is back where she belongs, dreaming up more adventures for her heroine, amateur detective and single mum Beth Haldane. She is married with two children, two stepchildren and two cats, and writes about parenting on her mummy blog, DD’s Diary www.dulwichdivorcee.com. Her latest book, Death in Dulwich, is being published in September 2017 by Crooked Cat Books.

 

Links

‘Death in Dulwich’ is available to buy from:-

Amazon UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Death-Dulwich-London-Murder-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B071WSGCQ2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1504018484&sr=8-1&keywords=death+in+dulwich

Amazon US – https://www.amazon.com/Death-Dulwich-London-Murder-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B071WSGCQ2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1504018484&sr=8-1&keywords=death+in+dulwich

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour – ‘Death in Dulwich’ by Alice Castle

  1. Alice Cullerne Bown on said:

    Hi Sonya, thanks so much for having me on your blog today, and thanks especially for your lovely thoughtful review of my book. You’ve really understood what I was trying to do with Beth and I really appreciate your kind words. It’s very heartwarming to hear that you’re looking forward to the next (The Girl in the Gallery, being published on 19th December by Crooked Cat). All the best, Alicex

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dulwichdivorcee on said:

    That’s such a lovely thing to say! My pleasure entirely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

