A Lover of Books

Blog Blitz – ‘Don’t You Dare’ by A.J. Waines

‘Don’t You Dare’ was published as an eBook on the 8th May 2018 by Bloodhound Books and is also available in paperback.  Having read a couple of A.J. Waines previous books which were self-published, I was totally made up for her when I saw that she had signed a book deal with a publisher.  I would like to thank A.J. Waines for mentioning me to Sarah Hardy and Bloodhound Books for my review copy.  I wouldn’t have missed taking part in this blog blitz for the world.

I’ll tell you exactly what I thought of ‘Don’t You Dare’ in a minute, but first here’s what the book is about.

 

Book Blurb

What if your daughter becomes your enemy?

When barmaid, Rachel, discovers her soon-to-be-married daughter, Beth,​ pinned down by a stranger in the pub cellar, Rachel lashes out in panic and the intruder ends up dead. In desperation, Rachel convinces Beth they should cover up the crime and go ahead with the planned wedding in one month’s time.

Rachel, however, has her own reasons for not involving the police.

Hiding their dreadful secret is harder than they both imagined and as the big day approaches and the lies multiply, Beth becomes a liability. Rachel looks on in dismay at the hen party​ ​when, after too many drinks, Beth declares she’s about to make a special announcement. But before Beth can say a word, she disappears…

When two people share a chilling secret, can both hold their nerve?

This book explores the dark side of a mother-daughter relationship when pushed to the limit.

It will appeal to fans of authors like Ruth Ware, Clare Mackintosh and C.L. Taylor.

 

My Review

The first thing I want to say is that A.J. Waines books just keep getting better and better. I feel as if I have been on a ride whilst reading ‘Don’t You Dare’, and I really didn’t want to come off it. It was so gripping and exciting and I found myself totally hooked.

The story is narrated by Rachel and Beth. I could see exactly why Rachel reacted the way she did when she found her daughter with a man in the cellar who appeared to be raping her. It’s not like she meant to kill him. But from then on things got tricky and her attempts to protect both herself and Beth got rather out of hand. At times I thought that Rachel went over the top and I really wasn’t sure that I liked her. She was becoming a bit of a control freak and the things she did behind Beth’s back were just shocking, even if all she was doing was looking out for her.

There were so many questions going through my head whilst I was reading this book. What if this or that happens? Will Beth and Peter get married in the end? It really had me thinking.

‘Don’t You Dare’ is an absolute corker of a read. I recommend it to all fans of psychological thrillers. I can’t wait to read A.J. Waines next book.

I give this book 5 out of 5.

~~~~~

‘Don’t You Dare’ is available to buy from Amazon UK:-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Dont-You-Dare-heart-stopping-psychological-ebook/dp/B07CLKBQQ9/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1525888061&sr=1-1

 

About A.J. Waines

AJ Waines has sold over 450,000 books worldwide and topped the UK and Australian Kindle Charts in 2015 & 2016 with her number one bestseller, Girl on a Train. Following fifteen years as a psychotherapist, she is now a full-time novelist with publishing deals in UK, France, Germany, Norway, Hungary and USA (audiobooks).

Her fourth psychological thriller, No Longer Safe, sold over 30,000 copies in the first month, in thirteen countries. AJ Waines has been featured in The Wall Street Journal and The Times and has been ranked a Top 10 UK author on Amazon KDP (Kindle Direct Publishing). She lives in Hampshire, UK, with her husband.

Find AJ Waines’ books here, visit her website and blog, or join her on TwitterFacebook or get her Newsletter.

 

Social Media Links

Website           www.ajwaines.co.uk

Newsletter       http://eepurl.com/bamGuL

Blog:               www.awaines.blogspot.co.uk

Facebook:       www.facebook.com/AJWaines

Twitter:           www.twitter.com/AJWaines

Goodreads:     www.goodreads.com/AJWaines

Instagram:       www.instagram.com/ajwaines

Bookbub:        www.bookbub.com/authors/a-j-waines

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Blog Blitz – ‘Don’t You Dare’ by A.J. Waines

  1. Great review and I totally agree with you about Rachel. Glad you enjoyed this one too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So delighted you were on board for the tour, Sonya – and I’m blown away by your terrific review! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: