A Lover of Books

Blog Tour – ‘Blackpool’s Daughter’ by Maggie Mason ~ @LittleBrownUK @Authormary

‘Blackpool’s Daughter’ was published on the 18th April 2019 in paperback by Sphere and is also available as an eBook and in hardback.  I was thrilled to be invited by the author to take part in this blog tour and would like to thank the publisher for my review copy of this book.

You will find out in a minute what I thought of this book.  First though, here’s the blurb.

 

 

Book Blurb

The perfect read for fans of Mary Wood, Kitty Neale, Val Wood and Nadine Dorries
***PREVIOUSLY CALLED BLACKPOOL EVACUEE***

Clara is forced to flee her home as the Nazis invade the beautiful island of Guernsey

Separated from her mother, far away from anything familiar, she is at the mercy of a cruel shopkeeper. Clara is worked like a dog, but the warmth of her Blackpool friendships will go far to save her.

Julia just wants to find her beloved daughter – but the trials of war will keep them far apart.

They will meet again – but the war will change everything for mother and daughter

 

My Review

As you probably know by now I love family sagas and historical fiction. I was really looking forward to reading ‘Blackpool’s Daughter’ and I can tell you that it was well worth the wait. I truly loved this story and was totally hooked all the way through. Maggie Mason is such a wonderful writer and tells it how it would have been in the 1940s. It is obvious that a lot of research and care and attention has gone into writing this book.

Set during the Second World War, this is the story of Julia and her young daughter Clara. The Nazis could invade Guernsey at anytime and Julia has no other option but to put her daughter’s safety before her own, even though that means they will be separated from each other. Clara is about to embark on a journey and doesn’t know where she will end up. When she finds out that she is being sent to Blackpool her spirits lift a little.

Clara’s life is far from easy and she has to do a lot of growing up quickly. Along the way she makes some good friends and they keep her going, even with things as unbearable as they are.

There were lots of characters in this story, many with their own tragic tale to tell. But whatever happened they kept going one way or the other. Then there were the unsavoury characters, i.e. the gangsters. The brutality Clara and others like her faced was appalling and at times there didn’t seem to be much hope for them, so it was nice to see that they could have a bit of fun together sometimes. Both Clara and Julia went through a lot and their lives changed so much over the years.

‘Blackpool’s Daughter’ is absolutely outstanding and is definitely one of my favourite books of the year. With unforgettable characters this is a story that will stay in my heart for ages. I hope Maggie Mason writes lots more books.

If like me you love family sagas then I recommend that you buy yourself a copy. You won’t be disappointed and will be wanting more.

~~~~~

‘Blackpool’s Daughter’ is available to buy from Amazon UK:-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Blackpool-Evacuee-Maggie-Mason/dp/0751573191/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1555612146&sr=1-1-fkmrnull

 

About Maggie Mason

Maggie Mason is a pseudonym of author Mary Wood. Mary began her career by self-publishing on kindle where many of her sagas reached number one in genre. She was spotted by Pan Macmillan and to date has written many books for them under her own name, with more to come. Mary continues to be proud to write for Pan Macmillan, but is now equally proud and thrilled to take up a second career with Sphere under the name of Maggie Mason. A Blackpool Lass is her first in a planned series of standalone books and trilogies set in her home town of Blackpool.

Mary retired from working for the National Probation Service in 2009, when she took up full time writing, something she’d always dreamed of doing. She follows in the footsteps of her great-grandmother, Dora Langlois, who was an acclaimed author, playwright and actress in the late nineteenth – early twentieth century.

It was her work with the Probation Service that gives Mary’s writing its grittiness, her need to tell it how it is, which takes her readers on an emotional journey to the heart of issues.

 

Links

Website – https://www.authormarywood.com/

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/HistoricalNovels

Twitter – https://twitter.com/Authormary

 

Single Post Navigation

23 thoughts on “Blog Tour – ‘Blackpool’s Daughter’ by Maggie Mason ~ @LittleBrownUK @Authormary

  1. Beverley Hopper on said:

    This is beautiful how lovely x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pauline Totten on said:

    Another fantastic review of a great book from my favourite author

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Karen Willis on said:

    Really well deserved! x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mary Wood on said:

    Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I’m so happy – doing a happy dance. It is a real buzz when someone really gets your book and feels the characters and everything they do. Also thank you for hosting me and all the hard work you do on behalf of me and my fellow authors. Much love, Mary x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. helen Baldwin on said:

    can’t wait to read this book

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Elaine Fryatt on said:

    Super review.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lesleyann Neville on said:

    Exciting !!!! Mary writes, we read win win xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lovely as always x

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ruth craig on said:

    Great review, cant wait to read this book.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Debbie Pilgrim on said:

    Wow! I love this sort of book. Can’t wait to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. janicecampbell313@talktalk.net on said:

    A lovely review

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Val Hall on said:

    Superb review and the author’s biography is much appreciated too. Will follow this one up!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Miriam Smith on said:

    Truly a lovely review!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Janette Fletcher on said:

    A great review. Can’t wait to get my hands on the book. As a Blackpool girl myself (3rd generation ‘sandgrown un’) with a mother born in that same era should evoke some emotions.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Julie Kay on said:

    Lovely 💕❤️ x x

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Sandra Blower on said:

    I have to agree it is a wonderful book.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Sue Bellwood on said:

    Great review for a GREAT author Maggie / Mary.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Lady-Anna Saul Positive on said:

    I totally agree with your review – it was an absorbing amazing read

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Doreen Ward on said:

    Lovely revue, lovely book and lovely lady

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Margaret CrW on said:

    What absolutely great review xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: