A Lover of Books

Archive for the day “November 14, 2019”

Blog Tour – ‘A Deathly Silence’ by Jane Isaac ~ @Legend_Press @JaneIsaacAuthor

I am absolutely delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for ‘A Deathly Silence’ by Jane Isaac.  The third book in the DCI Helen Lavery series, it was published in paperback and as an eBook on the 15th October 2019 by Legend Press.

I would like to thank both the publisher and the author for my review copy of ‘A Deathly Silence’.  You will find out in a minute exactly what I thought about this book.  First though here’s the all important book blurb.

 

 

Book Blurb

When the mutilated body of a police officer is found in a derelict factory, the Hamptonshire police force is shocked to the core.

DCI Helen Lavery returns from injury leave and is immediately plunged into an investigation like no other. Is this a random attack or is someone targeting the force? Organised crime groups or a lone killer?

As the net draws in, Helen finds the truth lies closer than she could have imagined, and trusts no one.

But Helen is facing a twisted killer who will stop at nothing to ensure their secrets remain hidden. And time is running out…

A gripping thriller perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah

 

My Review

This is the first book I have read in the DCI Helen Lavery series and oh my goodness, was it a cracker or what. I absolutely loved Jane Isaac’s writing style. The words practically leapt off the pages and I was totally engrossed. I really didn’t want to have to put the book down.

I thought ‘A Deathly Silence’ worked extremely well as a standalone. There were mentions of a previous investigation throughout which had me intrigued. I hope one day soon to be able to read the first two books in the series.

I liked DCI Helen Lavery right from the start. She was very professional and appeared to have a good working relationship with her colleagues, which of course is always very important when spending a number of hours with them. The murder of one of their own shocked them to the core. Who could do such a thing? The time bomb was ticking, and they needed to find the killer fast before he or she struck again.

This really was an excellent police procedural. It always fascinates me to see how the pieces of the puzzle fit together when trying to solve a crime. I imagine it’s a bit like looking for a needle in a haystack. Just one small clue can lead to something big.

It was obvious from reading this book that the author has done her research. So much time and effort appears to have been put into this work of art. There wasn’t one dull moment.

If you like crime fiction and police procedurals, then I highly recommend that you read ‘A Deathly Silence’. I guarantee that you will be hooked.

Jane Isaac is now officially on my list of favourite authors and I hope there will be many more books to come from her.

 

‘A Deathly Silence’ is available from Amazon UK:-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Deathly-Silence-DCI-Helen-Lavery/dp/1789550718/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1573673274&sr=8-1

 

About Jane Isaac

Jane Isaac is married to a serving detective and they live in rural Northamptonshire, UK with their daughter, and dog, Bollo. Jane’s debut novel, An Unfamiliar Murder, introduces DCI Helen Lavery and was nominated as best mystery in the ‘eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook awards 2013.’

The Truth Will Out, the second in the DCI Helen Lavery series, was nominated as ‘Thriller of the Month – April 2014’ by E-thriller.com and winner of ‘Noveltunity book club selection – May 2014’.

Jane’s seventh novel, Presumed Guilty, is the second in the highly acclaimed DC Beth Chamberlain (Family Liaison Officer) series.

The third DC Beth Chamberlain novel is scheduled for release in 2019, along with a new DCI Helen Lavery novel.

 

Links

Website – https://janeisaac.co.uk/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/JaneIsaacAuthor

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/JaneIsaacAuthor/

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/janeisaac

Post Navigation

%d bloggers like this: