A Lover of Books

Archive for the day “May 4, 2022”

‘The Hiding Place’ by Simon Lelic ~ @VikingBooksUK @Simon_Lelic #BlogTour #BookReview

‘The Hiding Place’ by Simon Lelic is being published in paperback by Viking on the 5th May 2022. It will also be available in eBook format and audiobook. I am delighted to be taking part in this blog tour and would like to thank the publisher for my review copy of the book.

Synopsis

‘It was only a game.’

Until a boy went missing.

‘No one was meant to get hurt.’

But a body has been found.

‘Just some innocent fun.’

Except one of them is a killer.

Ready or not, here I come.

It’s time to play hide and seek again.

A PULSE POUNDING DETECTIVE THRILLER: 20 years after a boy goes missing at boarding school, his body is found and his friends, now some of the most powerful people in the country, are the suspects – for fans of THE CHALK MAN PB and THE GUEST LIST.

My Review

This is the first book by Simon Lelic that I have read, and I enjoyed it tremendously.  I liked the style of writing and how the reader is given an insight into what happened all those years ago.  I found it hard to put down the book at times especially as I got further into the story when things got really exciting.  It was gripping with twists and turns aplenty that kept me guessing.

Out of all of the characters I really liked Detective Inspector Fleet and Detective Sergeant Collins and thought they had a good working relationship.  I think that is really important.  It was nice that they could talk to each other about private things too.

I was left shocked by the outcome and would never in a million years have worked it all out myself.  The author definitely knows how to tell a good story.

If you like crime fiction and police procedurals, then I recommend reading ‘The Hiding Place’.

I am glad I was given the opportunity to discover Simon Lelic’s work and I will definitely be reading more of his books.

‘The Hiding Place’ can be pre-ordered from Amazon UK.

About the Author

Simon Lelic is the author of seven highly acclaimed thrillers: Rupture (winner of a Betty Trask Award and shortlisted for the John Creasey Debut Dagger), The Facility, The Child Who (longlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger and the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger), The House, The Liar’s Room, The Search Party and The Hiding Place. He has also written The Haven series for younger readers, twice shortlisted for the CrimeFest awards.

Website

Twitter

Post Navigation

%d bloggers like this: