A Lover of Books

Archive for the tag “Canelo”

Blog Tour – ‘The House at Greenacres’ by Darcie Boleyn ~ @canelo_co @DarcieBoleyn

‘The House at Greenacres’ by Darcie Boleyn was published as an eBook on the 25th March 2019 by Canelo.  I am thrilled to be taking part in the blog tour for this book and would like to thank Ellie Pilcher of Canelo for inviting me to participate and for my review copy.

You will find out exactly what I thought about this book in a minute.  First though, here’s the blurb.

 

Book Blurb

All roads lead home…

When Holly Dryden fled Penhallow Sands nearly a year ago she was determined to put the past – and Rich Turner – behind her. But now an unexpected loss and financial trouble has led her back to the family vineyard and it’s time to tell Rich the truth – he’s a father.

Surrounded by the memories of what they once shared Holly’s anger fades in the glow of Rich’s undeniable love for their son and the way he selflessly steps in to help the vineyard out of trouble. As Holly watches Rich flourish in his new role as father to baby Luke, she realises that though they can’t change the past, the future is still theirs to write…

An uplifting, emotional romance set in Cornwall perfect for fans of Holly Martin and Phillipa Ashley

 

My Review

This book was full of gorgeousness; from the cover which reminded me of a lovely summer’s day to the story itself. I absolutely loved Darcie Boleyn’s style of writing and I really did not want to have to put my kindle down. This was such a relaxing and uplifting read and it ticked all the right boxes for me.

The author’s descriptions of Greenacres were simply divine. I wanted to be there exploring the house, the vineyard and the fields and drinking plenty of wine.

I thought that the characters were wonderful. There wasn’t one that I didn’t like. At times I almost felt as if I was with them. Some of the things Holly’s granny came out with were just hilarious. I thought she coped extremely well after losing her husband. Holly’s granny was such a lovely soul.

Whether Holly decided to stay at Greenacres or return to Exeter, she had to talk to Rich, her ex-boyfriend. He needed to know the truth, that he was a father. Where they would go from there though she really didn’t know. As the days and weeks went by Holly found herself enjoying life at Penhalllow Sands. She had lots of love and support from her family, plus Rich took to fatherhood really well. He absolutely doted on Luke which was nice to see.

Financial troubles at the vineyard helped Holly to make an important decision. She would inherit Greenacres one day and she didn’t want to see its demise. There surely had to be a way to make the vineyard viable.

I don’t want to tell you how the story ended, but suffice to say it was what I wished for and more.

‘The House at Greenacres’ has all the right ingredients. It really is the ideal book to read if you’ve had a bad day. Darcie Boleyn is a wonderful writer and I will definitely be reading more of her books.

~~~~~

‘The House at Greenacres’ is available to purchase from:-

Amazon (UK)

Kobo (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

 

About Darcie Boleyn

Darcie Boleyn has a huge heart and is a real softy. She never fails to cry at books and movies, whether the ending is happy or not. Darcie is in possession of an overactive imagination that often keeps her awake at night. Her childhood dream was to become a Jedi but she hasn’t yet found suitable transport to take her to a galaxy far, far away. She also has reservations about how she’d look in a gold bikini, as she rather enjoys red wine, cheese and loves anything with ginger or cherries in it – especially chocolate. Darcie fell in love in New York, got married in the snow, rescues uncoordinated greyhounds and can usually be found reading or typing away on her laptop.

 

Links

Twitter – https://twitter.com/DarcieBoleyn

 

Interview with Isabel Costello

author-picture

I am delighted to welcome Isabel Costello to my blog today.  Isabel’s book, ‘Paris Mon Amour’ was published as an eBook last June by Canelo.  I asked Isabel some questions.

 

Firstly, can you tell me a bit about your debut novel, Paris Mon Amour?

At the heart of the book is the intense affair between 40-year-old Alexandra and a much younger man, Jean-Luc, who’s the son of her husband’s best friend.  It’s definitely a love story first and foremost, but it’s also about family ties, living with the past and what it means to ‘belong’ in another country and culture.  Alexandra is American, her husband Philippe is French and she’s lived in Paris for ten years.

 

I fell in love with the cover of your book when I first saw it. Who designed it?

book-cover

Thank you!  I’m thrilled the cover has been such a hit with readers.  It’s the work of Dan Mogford, who specialises in publishing and book cover design.  It made a big difference that Dan really ‘got’ the novel – the smashed lily, based on an image by Australian photographer Anna Thomas, captures the essence of the story perfectly.

 

What made you decide to write this book?

It arose from my deep frustration at the double standards by which men and women are judged, never more so than when it’s about looks, ageing and sex.  But that doesn’t make a novel – I knew I’d need a strong plot and characters who’d really pull the reader in, and the story took shape fairly quickly.

 

How long did it take you to write?

About 18 months.  As it was closely based on a short story which already had a complete narrative arc I had a clear idea where I was going with it from the start – that’s how I like to approach a novel.  It was very intense, but I loved writing it.

 

Did you have to do any research?

Since my main interest is human nature and the way people feel and behave in different situations, life experience is more important to my writing than ‘book research’ – sometimes it’s an advantage being a mature debut author! But I did a lot of on-site research in Paris, even though I already knew the city well.  Rather than rehashing the tourist version, I wanted to see it through my character’s eyes and gain a deeper understanding by talking to people who live there.

 

Can you relate to any of your characters?

Paris Mon Amour is a frank first person narrative dealing with sensitive and exposing issues, and I couldn’t have written it without feeling for my protagonist Alexandra.  Although the novel isn’t autobiographical in the obvious sense, there’s a fair bit of me in her, but many aspects of her personality and experience demanded a lot of imagination.  Going deeply into my characters’ heads is the part I enjoy most – I’ve always wondered what it would be like to be someone else.

 

How easy was it to get your book published?

‘Easy’ is not a word I associate with getting published and following several near misses, this book nearly didn’t make it out there.  But perseverance is essential, and so is having people willing to believe and invest in your work.   I’m lucky to have a very committed agent and publisher who’ve enabled me to share Alexandra’s story with readers.

 

What are you working on now?

I’m currently outlining my next novel, also set in Paris, and will start my first draft in the new year.  Suddenly it’s really coming together, which is exciting!

 

Have you been given any good advice about writing?

The best was from Lionel Shriver, who said ‘write what matters to you – it’s the only way you can be certain your time is well spent’. The advice to ‘take risks’ and ‘be bold’ also resonates and just as well, as I seem to be naturally drawn to subjects people often avoid talking about.

 

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I love swimming and walking, cooking, art, cinema – and reading, of course.  Running the Literary Sofa takes up a lot of my time but it’s a labour of love.

 

If you could have dinner with just one author, who would it be?

That is SO hard to answer!  My first instinct was to choose a certain male novelist I’ve already met, but instead I’m going to go with the author I’d most like to meet: A M (Amy) Homes.  I love her writing (especially This Book Will Change Your Life), she’s smart and witty and I reckon she’d be fun and interesting to talk to.  And if we get to do it in New York City, that would be a bonus!

 

About Isabel Costello

Isabel Costello’s debut novel Paris Mon Amour is available in digital (Canelo) in the UK, USA and Canada and in audiobook worldwide (Audible). She hosts the Literary Sofa blog, where you can find her new quarterly book selection, the Winter 2016 Sofa Spotlight.  She’s also on Twitter @isabelcostello

 

‘Paris Mon Amour’ is available to buy from Amazon UK:-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Paris-Mon-Amour-Isabel-Costello-ebook/dp/B01FR0XFGS/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1483813725&sr=1-2&keywords=paris+mon+amour

 

Post Navigation

%d bloggers like this: