A Lover of Books

Archive for the tag “fourth book in the series”

Blog Tour – ‘Beast’ by Matt Wesolowski ~ @annecater @OrendaBooks @ConcreteKraken

‘Beast’, the fourth book in the Six Stories series, was published in paperback on the 6th February 2020 by Orenda Books and is also available as an eBook.

I would like to thank Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for inviting me to participate in this tour.  I have a competition for you all to enter.

 

Book Blurb

Continuing the unique, explosive Six Stories series, based around six podcasts comes a compulsive, taut and terrifying thriller, and a bleak and distressing look at modern society’s desperation for attention. Beast will unveil a darkness from which you may never return…

In the wake of the ‘Beast from the East’ cold snap that ravaged the UK in 2018, a grisly discovery was made in a ruin on the Northumbrian coast. Twenty-four-year-old vlogger, Elizabeth Barton, had been barricaded inside what locals refer to as ‘The Vampire Tower’, where she was later found frozen to death.

Three young men, part of an alleged cult, were convicted of this terrible crime, which they described as a ‘prank gone wrong’. However, in the small town of Ergarth, questions have been raised about the nature of Elizabeth Barton’s death and whether the three convicted youths were even responsible.

Elusive online journalist Scott King speaks to six witnesses – people who knew both the victim and the three killers – to peer beneath the surface of the case. He uncovers whispers of a shocking online craze that held the young of Ergarth in its thrall and drove them to escalate a series of pranks in the name of internet fame. He hears of an abattoir on the edge of town, which held more than simple slaughter behind its walls, and the tragic and chilling legend of the Ergarth Vampire…

 

About Matt Wesolowski

Matt Wesolowski is an author from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne in the UK. He is an English tutor for young people in care. Matt started his writing career in horror, and his short horror fiction has been published in numerous UK- an US-based anthologies such as Midnight Movie Creature, Selfies from the End of the World, Cold Iron and many more. His novella, The Black Land, a horror set on the Northumberland coast, was published in 2013. Matt was a winner of the Pitch Perfect competition at Bloody Scotland Crime Writing Festival in 2015. His debut thriller, Six Stories, was an Amazon bestseller in the USA, Canada, the UK and Australia, and a WHSmith Fresh Talent pick, and film rights were sold to a major Hollywood studio. A prequel, Hydra, was published in 2018 and became an international bestseller.

 

Links

‘Beast’ can be purchased from Amazon UK:-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Beast-Six-Stories-Matt-Wesolowski/dp/1913193136/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1581867556&sr=8-1

Twitter – https://twitter.com/ConcreteKraken

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5303620.Matt_Wesolowski

 

Competition

One lucky person has the chance to win a paperback copy of ‘Beast’.  To enter just share my post on social media and leave a comment on here.

 

Terms and Conditions

The closing date is 11:59 p.m. on the 25th February 2020.

The winner will be chosen within 7 days of the closing date and their details passed on to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours.

This competition is open to UK residents only.

 

Blog Tour – ‘Hell to Pay’ by Rachel Amphlett

It’s here at last! Yes, ‘Hell to Pay’ the fourth book in the Detective Kay Hunter series was published yesterday the 16th November 2017 in paperback and as an eBook by Saxon Publishing. Having thoroughly enjoyed this series so far I’m sure you can imagine my delight at being invited to take part in the blog tour for this book. I would like to thank the wonderful Emma Mitchell for organising this tour and Rachel Amphlett for the review copy.

A road traffic accident on a dark autumn night uncovers something rather shocking. Detective Sergeant Kay Hunter’s investigation exposes a ruthless serial killer who is exploiting vulnerable young women.

With her enemies unmasked and her career spiralling out of control, Kay’s determination to seek vengeance for the victims brings her dangerously close to those who want her silenced. Undeterred, she finally uncovers the real reason behind a plot to destroy her career.

Could Kay’s need for revenge be her undoing, or will she survive to see justice served?

Well, what can I say? I literally feel like I’ve been on a rollercoaster and only just got off it. ‘Hell to Pay’ was one absolute belter of a read. I have loved all the books in the series so far but this one has got to be my favourite. Rachel Amphlett really is a fantastic writer. With the short chapters and twists and turns she really keeps readers on the edge of their seat.

I thought this story to be particularly grisly but it didn’t stop me reading on. Through the authors descriptions I could picture the crime scenes. I’m just glad that I couldn’t smell them! The police obviously have to handle all sorts of cases, many of which are extremely unpleasant. I really felt for Kay and her colleagues coming across what they did. I like that the police officers were able to have a bit of banter despite this though. I guess it’s the only way to keep sane.

I liked the references made to previous cases throughout the story and I of course remembered them all. I couldn’t wait to find out what happened to Kay next with regards to solving who was trying to ruin her career. The discovery she made was a shocker.

This book can be read as a standalone. The author has really taken great care and attention to recap on the ongoing storyline involving Kay and has also introduced the police officers to her readers again. I do however recommend reading all the books in order as this is such a great series.

‘Hell to Pay’ is a gripping and exciting read. It will leave you wanting more. I hope there are more books in the series to come.

I give this book 5 out of 5.

 

‘Hell to Pay’ is available to buy from Amazon UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hell-Pay-Detective-Hunter-thriller-ebook/dp/B077CLS6RL/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1510858983&sr=1-1&keywords=hell+to+pay+by+rachel+amphlett

You can connect with Rachel by signing up to her mailing list via her website (http://www.rachelamphlett.com), or via Facebook (http://on.fb.me/TN7rpu) and Twitter: @RachelAmphlett

 

Cover Reveal – ‘Hell to Pay’ by Rachel Amphlett

I am more than just a little bit excited today.  In fact I am thrilled as I can at last reveal the cover for Rachel Amphlett’s new book, ‘Hell to Pay’, the fourth book in the Detective Kay Hunter series.  I swear the covers just keep getting better and better.

‘Hell to Pay’ is being published on the 16th November 2017 by Saxon Publishing and will be available in paperback, as an eBook and in audiobook.  Here’s what it’s about.

 

Book Blurb

When a road traffic accident on a dark autumn night uncovers a disturbing conspiracy, Detective Sergeant Kay Hunter’s investigation exposes a ruthless serial killer exploiting vulnerable young women.

With her enemies unmasked and her career spiralling out of control, Kay’s determination to seek vengeance for the victims brings her dangerously close to those who want to silence her.

Undeterred, she uncovers the real reason behind a plot to destroy her career and sets in motion a terrifying chain of events.

Could Kay’s need for revenge be her undoing, or will she survive to see justice served?

Hell to Pay is a gripping fast paced crime thriller, and the fourth in the Detective Kay Hunter series:

1. SCARED TO DEATH

2. WILL TO LIVE

3. ONE TO WATCH

4. HELL TO PAY

A page-turning whodunit for fans of Peter Robinson, David Baldacci and James Patterson.

 

‘Hell to Pay’ can be pre-ordered from Amazon UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hell-Pay-Detective-Hunter-Thriller/dp/0994547943/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1506969985&sr=1-1&keywords=hell+to+pay+by+rachel+amphlett

 

Blog Tour – ‘Don’t Be Afraid’ by Daniela Sacerdoti

Blog Tour

Today it is my turn on this blog tour and I am absolutely thrilled to be taking part.  Last year I read and reviewed Daniela Sacerdoti’s previous novel, ‘Set Me Free’ and I absolutely loved it, so I’m sure you can imagine how excited I was to read this book.  ‘Don’t Be Afraid’ is out in paperback this month, published by Black and White Publishing.  It is the fourth book in the Glen Avich series.

Isabel Ramsay lives in Glen Avich with her husband, Angus.  A successful artist, she has never really got over her mother’s death, even though she died when she was very young.  Haunted by what happened all those years ago, Isabel finds that her own life is spiralling out of control and unable to bear the pain any longer she decides to end her life.  But then Isabel wakes up and discovers that she hasn’t died after all.  She remembers a vision of a mysterious woman who has saved her, but doesn’t understand how this could be so.

With Isabel’s family and friends worried out of their minds, Angus and his brother find a companion to watch over Isabel.  Angus’s work means he is away quite a lot from home and he doesn’t want Isabel to be alone.  Isabel doesn’t like anyone in her home but somehow she accepts having Clara there.  Clara connects with her in a way no one else can.  She helps Isabel to face up to her painful past, rediscover her passion for art and encourages her to live her life again.  But there is something mysterious about Clara.

I tend to comment if I really love a book cover and this one is just beautiful.  It is picture perfect like a postcard.  The snow looks so lovely that you just don’t want to disturb it.

When I first started reading ‘Don’t Be Afraid’ I wasn’t sure if I would like it as much as the previous novel.  I thought it might be a little bit too depressing, but after a couple or so chapters I found myself really getting into the story.  Daniela Sacerdoti portrays her characters so well that you end up feeling as if you’ve known them forever.  It was nice meeting up with some of the characters from the previous book.  It felt like a reunion of old friends.

I could really understand how Angus was feeling.  He was put in a very tricky situation and was naturally scared in case Isabel tried to commit suicide again.  I thought that Clara was exactly what Isabel needed.  She was really good for her.  I found myself trying to work out what the mystery was about Clara, although I did have an idea.

‘Don’t Be Afraid’ is a beautiful, poignant and magical story and its one I won’t forget for quite a while.  I think this is a wonderful book for people who suffer from depression.  I am really looking forward to reading Daniela Sacerdoti’s next novel.

I give this book 5 out of 5.

 

 

‘Don’t Be Afraid is available to buy from Amazon:-

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dont-Afraid-Glen-Avich-Book-ebook/dp/B014JABSES/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1452448414&sr=1-1&keywords=don%27t+be+afraid

 

Post Navigation

%d bloggers like this: