A Lover of Books

Archive for the tag “Heidi Swain”

‘The Summer Fair’ by Heidi Swain ~ @Heidi_Swain @TeamBATC #BlogTour #BookReview

‘The Summer Fair’ is being published by Simon & Schuster in paperback on the 12th May 2022. It will also be available in eBook format and Audiobook. I am thrilled to be taking part in this blog tour and would like to thank the publisher for my review copy.

Synopsis

Join Sunday Times bestseller Heidi Swain back in Nightingale Square for a sunshine and celebration filled summer…
 
Beth loves her job working in a care home, looking after its elderly residents, but she doesn’t love the cramped and dirty house-share she currently lives in. So, when she gets the opportunity to move to Nightingale Square, sharing a house with the lovely Eli, she jumps at the chance.
 
The community at Nightingale Square welcomes Beth with open arms, and when she needs help to organise a fundraiser for the care home they rally round. Then she discovers The Arches, a local creative arts centre, has closed and the venture to replace it needs their help too – but this opens old wounds and past secrets for Beth.
 
Music was always an important part of her life, but now she has closed the door on all that. Will her friends at the care home and the people of Nightingale Square help her find a way to learn to love it once more…?

My Review

I absolutely loved ‘The Summer Fair’.  Having really enjoyed Heidi Swain’s last novel I couldn’t wait to read this one.  This was such a feel-good read.  The words just jumped off the pages and I really didn’t want to put this book down.

For me it was my first time in Nightingale Square but that didn’t spoil anything at all.  It became clear from the very start that I was going to enjoy this novel.

The characters were all really likeable.  I enjoyed following Beth on her journey and seeing how things worked out for her.  I also took great pleasure in meeting all of her neighbours.  There was such a good sense of community spirit and I think the things they organised were great.

I loved reading about the care home and all the antics some of the residents got up to.  Beth was like a breath of fresh air and what she achieved there was amazing.

‘The Summer Fair’ is a magical and heart-warming read.  If you’re looking for some escapism, then I highly recommend that you read this book.

I look forward to Heidi Swain’s next book.

‘The Summer Fair’ can be pre-ordered from:-

Amazon.co.uk

Blackwells

Hive

WHSmith

Waterstones

About the Author

Heidi lives in beautiful south Norfolk with her family and a mischievous cat called Storm. She is passionate about gardening, the countryside, collecting vintage paraphernalia and reading. Her TBR pile is always out of control! To find out more, follow Heidi on twitter @Heidi_Swain or visit her website: heidiswain.co.uk

‘Underneath the Christmas Tree’ by Heidi Swain – @Heidi_Swain @TeamBATC #BlogTour

‘Underneath the Christmas Tree’ is Heidi Swain’s brand new book. It is being published on the 28th October 2021 by Simon and Schuster and will be available in paperback, eBook and audiobook. To celebrate a blog tour has been organised and today I am one of the bloggers taking part.

I would like to thank the publisher for kindly sending me a paperback copy to review and for the lovely treats.

Synopsis

***The sparkling new Christmas novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author Heidi Swain!***

Wynter’s Trees is the home of Christmas. For the people of Wynmouth it’s where they get their family Christmas tree, and where Christmas truly comes to life.

But for Liza Wynter, it’s a millstone around her neck. It was her father’s pride and joy but now he’s gone, she can’t have anything to do with it. Until her father’s business partner decides to retire and she must go back to handle the transition to his son Ned.

When Liza arrives, she discovers a much-loved business that’s flourishing under Ned’s stewardship. And she’s happy to stay and help for the Christmas season, but then she has other plans. But will the place where she grew up make her change her mind? And can it weave its Christmas cheer around her heart…?

Underneath the Christmas Tree is the perfect festive read, promising snowfall, warm fires and breath-taking seasonal romance. Perfect for fans of Milly Johnson, Carole Matthews and Cathy Bramley.

My Review

Wow!  That was a truly wonderful read.  It really was.  What a beautiful and entertaining story.  I feel all Christmassy now.

By that I think you will have worked out that I totally loved ‘Underneath the Christmas Tree’.  Once I started reading this book, I was soon turning the pages eagerly.  I found it very cosy and inviting.  The cover is just so beautiful.  It was like an open door enticing me in between the pages. just like a nice bar of chocolate.  Heidi Swain has a most wonderful style of writing, one that draws the reader in and gets them involved in the story.

Reading about Wynter’s Trees really made me want to be there.  I was wishing there was a special button in the book for me to press that would actually transport me to this wonderful sounding place.  If only!  Perhaps the author could arrange this for future books?

There were just so many lovely characters in this story and there wasn’t anyone I didn’t like.  Ned sounded like a total dreamboat and I loved reading about Bandit, his adorable dog.  I cannot even begin to imagine how hard it must have been for Liza to return to Wynter’s Trees and to face her past.  I think it was what she had to do though in order to try and move on.

If you are looking for some Christmas reads, then I can highly recommend ‘Underneath the Christmas Tree’.  It will entertain you and you will be left feeling all dreamy and Christmassy.  This book has all the ingredients necessary and more to really make your day.  With sadness comes happiness and I think the author had the right mix of both.

I hope that there are more books with Liza and Ned, and Bandit of course.  I for one would love to read more about Wynter’s Trees.

Thank you for writing this wonderful story, Heidi.  I am so glad I was given the chance to read it.

‘Underneath the Christmas Tree’ can be pre-ordered from:-

Amazon.co.uk

Blackwells

Hive

Waterstones

Wordery

About the Author

Heidi lives in beautiful south Norfolk with her family and a mischievous cat called Storm. She is passionate about gardening, the countryside, collecting vintage paraphernalia and reading. Her TBR pile is always out of control! To find out more, follow Heidi on twitter @Heidi_Swain or visit her website: heidiswain.co.uk.

Guest Post by Heidi Swain

first class

Heidi Swain’s debut novel is being published in July and I for one can’t wait to read it.  Heidi has written a fabulous guest post for my blog.

 

How did I get here?

Hello Sonya. Thank you so much for inviting me to feature on your fabulous blog ahead of the eagerly anticipated The Cherry Tree Café publication day of July 16th.

 

Cherry Tree Cafe Cover

It is always exciting to chat about writing and current projects but for this post I thought it would be an opportunity to think back over my writing journey (for want over a better word), to when it all began. One of the most common comments I have received recently is how lucky I am that everything has happened so quickly for me but actually, it hasn’t happened all that quickly at all.

As some of you may already know I submitted to the thoroughly fabulous Books and The City Team at Simon & Schuster on July 15th last year through their #onedayonly call for submissions and The Cherry Tree Café is scheduled for publication exactly one year and a day from that date. So yes, I guess that is pretty fast, but the commitment (and kernel of confidence), to jump in and take my writing seriously actually happened years before my submission last July.

Tales from the Old Dining Room

My daughter was recently raiding my bedroom bookshelf and discovered a little book titled Tales from the Old Dining Room which was printed after the second creative writing course I took. The blurb reads;

‘Don’t think, just write. The idea was simple – write every day for two weeks and see where the story takes you. This book is a collection of unedited stories produced by the Friday morning Creative Writing group at Wensum Lodge in Norwich.’

By the time that book was printed by my wonderful tutor Neil Mason in 2010 I had already completed a writing for children course with Paeony Lewis and would go on to take two further creative writing courses with Norwich based poet, Julia Webb.

During that time I also wrote a variety of short stories, (one of which was a Christmas competition winner), for the online community Shortbread Stories (http://www.shortbreadstories.co.uk/#axzz3ZdUSmCvH), ran a blog alongside various features I wrote for our local magazine and attended as many writing related functions and seminars as possible.

I didn’t find the confidence to begin writing my first novel until sometime in 2012, however since then I have written four. I joined the RNA New Writers Scheme in 2014 and struck gold straightaway with The Cherry Tree Café.

Taking the time to look back I can’t quite believe just how many years have slipped by between filling in that first creative course application and signing my contract with Simon & Schuster, but if I had to do it all again I wouldn’t change a thing. Five plus years of hard work, trials, errors and triumphs are now being beautifully rewarded in ways I could have only ever dreamt of and for that I am so, so grateful.

No matter where you are on your own writing journey, whether you are just taking that first step and putting pen to paper, submitting your first manuscript, or crossing your fingers as you check your inbox just remember that if you want it badly enough and you’ve put in the hours, you will get there. You will find a way to make your writing dreams come true and I wish you the very best of luck.

Never lose faith, no matter how long it takes.

 

The Cherry Tree Café will be published on July 16th but is already available for pre-order via links below.

Links:                                                                              

Blog: http://www.heidiswain.blogspot.co.uk/

Twitter: @Heidi_Swain

Amazon pre-order: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Cherry-Tree-Cafe-Heidi-Swain-ebook/dp/B00RM4V02E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1430324049&sr=8-1&keywords=cherry+tree+cafe

Kobo pre-order: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/book/the-cherry-tree-cafe/id955075784?mt=11

iBooks pre-order: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/the-cherry-tree-cafe

 

Post Navigation

%d bloggers like this: