A Lover of Books

Archive for the tag “Orion”

Cover Reveal – ‘Spirited’ by Julie Cohen ~ @orionbooks @julie_cohen

I am thrilled to be helping to share the cover for Julie Cohen’s brand new book.

Yes, you heard right!  ‘Spirited’ is being published in hardback, as an eBook and Audiobook on the 9th July 2020 by Orion and it sounds absolutely amazing.

Right, are you ready to feast your eyes on the cover?  I can promise you that it’s pure gorgeousness.

 

 

 

Such beautiful artwork.  Here’s what ‘Spirited’ is about.

 

Book Blurb

FAITH.
Viola has an impossible talent. Searching for meaning in her grief, she uses her photography to feel closer to her late father, taking solace from the skills he taught her—and to keep her distance from her husband. But her pictures seem to capture things invisible to the eye…

COURAGE.
Henriette is a celebrated spirit medium, carrying nothing but her secrets with her as she travels the country. When she meets Viola, a powerful connection sparks between them—but Victorian society is no place for reckless women.

LOVE.
Meanwhile, on the other side of the world, invisible threads join Viola and Henriette to another woman who lives in secrecy, hiding her dangerous act of rebellion in plain sight.

What will they risk for freedom?

 

‘Spirited’ can be pre-ordered from:-

Waterstones – https://www.waterstones.com/book/spirited/julie-cohen/9781409179870

Blackwell’s – https://blackwells.co.uk/bookshop/product/Spirited-by-Julie-Cohen-author/9781409179870

 

About Julie Cohen

Julie Cohen grew up in Maine and studied English at Brown University, Cambridge University and the University of Reading. Her award-winning novels have sold over a million copies worldwide, and she has twice been selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club in the UK. Julie runs an oversubscribed literary consultancy which has helped many writers go on to be published. She is a Vice President of the Romantic Novelists’ Association, founder of the RNA Rainbow Chapter, and a Patron of literacy charity ABC To Read. Her bestselling novel TOGETHER has been translated into eleven languages and optioned for television adaptation; THE TWO LIVES OF LOUIS & LOUISE was long-listed for the Polari Prize and has been optioned by Enderby Entertainment as a feature film. Her first historical novel, SPIRITED, will be published in July 2020. She lives in Berkshire with her family and a terrier of dubious origin.

 

Links

Website – http://www.julie-cohen.com/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/julie_cohen

 

Blog Tour – ‘Four Weddings and a Festival’ by Annie Robertson ~ @orionbooks @annierauthor

‘Four Weddings and a Festival’ was published in paperback and as an eBook on the 11th July 2019 by Orion.  It is also available as an audio book.  I am beyond thrilled to be taking part in this blog tour and would like to thank Kate Moreton for inviting me to participate and for my review copy which I got via NetGalley.

I am bursting to tell you what I thought about ‘Four Weddings and a Festival’.  First though, here’s the blurb.

 


Book Blurb

Four months. Four weddings. One happy ending…?

Lifelong friends and rom-com fans Bea, Lizzie, Hannah and Kat have curled up with Bridget Jones, sobbed at Love, Actually and memorised the script to Notting Hill. They always joked about getting married in one summer – their own Four Weddings – and it seems like this might just be the year . . .

That is, until Bea turns down her boyfriend’s proposal. Is her own Hugh Grant waiting for her amid the champagne and confetti? Can real-life romance ever live up to a Richard Curtis movie?

As the wedding – and festival – season gets into its swing, can all four friends find their happy ever after…?

Raise a glass of champagne and get ready for this summer’s most charming romantic comedy! Perfect for fans of Sophie Ranalds, Mandy Baggot and Sue Roberts

 

My Review

I absolutely loved this book. It was such a lighthearted and enjoyable read. I really liked the author’s style of writing and the storyline. I must also comment on the cover. Its just so beautiful and summery and really catches the eye. Love it.

I thoroughly enjoyed meeting Bea, Lizzie, Hannah and Kat and I felt as if I had known them all forever. I adored Aunt Jane. She was just so much fun, the kind of aunt I think we would all like to have in our lives.

I like that the author has included gay characters in her story. She has also touched on some very important issues.

I have to confess that I have never actually watched ‘Four Weddings and a Funeral’. Yes, I know. Unbelievable isn’t it! I must be in the minority. Now that I have read this book though I am determined to watch it, even though I must be a zillion years late to the game.

I highly recommend reading ‘Four Weddings and a Festival’. It’s the sort of book which really helps you to escape from everyday life and it is guaranteed to leave a smile on your face.

I am looking forward to reading more of Annie Robertson’s books.

 

‘Four Weddings and a Festival’ is available to buy from Amazon UK:-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Four-Weddings-Festival-Annie-Robertson/dp/1409189996/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1562868586&sr=8-1

 

Links

Twitter – https://twitter.com/annierauthor

Competition – ‘Let it Burn’ by Steve Hamilton

Let it Burn

‘Let it Burn’ is Steve Hamilton’s brand new book.  It is being published by Orion on the 29th August 2013 in hardback and ebook.

Half a lifetime ago, Alex McKnight was a young cop in Detroit. Now he’s an occasional private eye up in Paradise, Michigan, and trying hard to put the past behind him. Then he gets the call that every cop dreads: a killer he helped put behind bars is getting released, and he might just have payback on his mind.

Suddenly the years fall away, and in his mind Alex is back in that hot summer in Detroit, hunting the brutal murderer of a young woman. The problem is, something about the case no longer makes sense, and Alex feels compelled to retrace the steps that led to the arrest and conviction of Darryl King. But it’s not just the case that looks different: returning to Detroit, Alex finds a city that is almost unrecognizable from the one he left, a city that is quite literally dying on its feet, where crime and decay hold sway, and law and order are in retreat.

And as Alex searches for the truth among the shadows of the past, he discovers a story more shocking than the one he thought he knew and a danger more threatening than an ex-con looking for revenge.

10 very lucky people will win a copy of this book.  To enter, please leave a comment telling me where you like to read.

Terms and Conditions

This competition is open to UK residents only.

The closing date is 11:59 p.m. on the 15th September 2013.

Winners will be notified within 7 days and their details will be passed on to Orion who will send out the prizes.

Good Luck everyone! 🙂

Post Navigation