A Lover of Books

Archive for the tag “set in Kent”

Blog Tour – ‘Hell to Pay’ by Rachel Amphlett

It’s here at last! Yes, ‘Hell to Pay’ the fourth book in the Detective Kay Hunter series was published yesterday the 16th November 2017 in paperback and as an eBook by Saxon Publishing. Having thoroughly enjoyed this series so far I’m sure you can imagine my delight at being invited to take part in the blog tour for this book. I would like to thank the wonderful Emma Mitchell for organising this tour and Rachel Amphlett for the review copy.

A road traffic accident on a dark autumn night uncovers something rather shocking. Detective Sergeant Kay Hunter’s investigation exposes a ruthless serial killer who is exploiting vulnerable young women.

With her enemies unmasked and her career spiralling out of control, Kay’s determination to seek vengeance for the victims brings her dangerously close to those who want her silenced. Undeterred, she finally uncovers the real reason behind a plot to destroy her career.

Could Kay’s need for revenge be her undoing, or will she survive to see justice served?

Well, what can I say? I literally feel like I’ve been on a rollercoaster and only just got off it. ‘Hell to Pay’ was one absolute belter of a read. I have loved all the books in the series so far but this one has got to be my favourite. Rachel Amphlett really is a fantastic writer. With the short chapters and twists and turns she really keeps readers on the edge of their seat.

I thought this story to be particularly grisly but it didn’t stop me reading on. Through the authors descriptions I could picture the crime scenes. I’m just glad that I couldn’t smell them! The police obviously have to handle all sorts of cases, many of which are extremely unpleasant. I really felt for Kay and her colleagues coming across what they did. I like that the police officers were able to have a bit of banter despite this though. I guess it’s the only way to keep sane.

I liked the references made to previous cases throughout the story and I of course remembered them all. I couldn’t wait to find out what happened to Kay next with regards to solving who was trying to ruin her career. The discovery she made was a shocker.

This book can be read as a standalone. The author has really taken great care and attention to recap on the ongoing storyline involving Kay and has also introduced the police officers to her readers again. I do however recommend reading all the books in order as this is such a great series.

‘Hell to Pay’ is a gripping and exciting read. It will leave you wanting more. I hope there are more books in the series to come.

I give this book 5 out of 5.

 

‘Hell to Pay’ is available to buy from Amazon UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hell-Pay-Detective-Hunter-thriller-ebook/dp/B077CLS6RL/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1510858983&sr=1-1&keywords=hell+to+pay+by+rachel+amphlett

You can connect with Rachel by signing up to her mailing list via her website (http://www.rachelamphlett.com), or via Facebook (http://on.fb.me/TN7rpu) and Twitter: @RachelAmphlett

 

Cover Reveal – ‘One to Watch’ by Rachel Amphlett

Having totally loved Rachel Amphlett’s first two Detective Kay Hunter novels, I am beyond excited to be revealing the cover of her new book.  Isn’t it just gorgeous?  I think it’s my favourite cover so far.

‘One to Watch’ is being published by Saxon Publishing on the 6th June 2017 and I can’t wait to read it.  There will of course be a blog tour.

 

Book Blurb

Sophie Whittaker shared a terrifying secret. Hours later, she was dead.

Detective Kay Hunter and her colleagues are shocked by the vicious murder of a teenage girl at a private party in the Kentish countryside.

A tangled web of dark secrets is exposed as twisted motives point to a history of greed and corruption within the tight-knit community.

Confronted by a growing number of suspects and her own enemies who are waging a vendetta against her, Kay makes a shocking discovery that will make her question her trust in everyone she knows.

One to Watch is a gripping murder mystery thriller, and the third in the Detective Kay Hunter series:

1. SCARED TO DEATH
2. WILL TO LIVE
3. ONE TO WATCH
4. HELL TO PAY (out 2017)

A page-turning whodunit for fans of Jeffery Deaver, Peter James, David Baldacci and James Patterson.

 

Contacting Rachel Amphlett

Email: info@rachelamphlett.com

Website: http://www.rachelamphlett.com

Twitter: @RachelAmphlett

Facebook: Rachel Amphlett

 

Post Navigation

%d bloggers like this: