A Lover of Books

Archive for the tag “uplifting”

Blog Tour – ‘The House at Greenacres’ by Darcie Boleyn ~ @canelo_co @DarcieBoleyn

‘The House at Greenacres’ by Darcie Boleyn was published as an eBook on the 25th March 2019 by Canelo.  I am thrilled to be taking part in the blog tour for this book and would like to thank Ellie Pilcher of Canelo for inviting me to participate and for my review copy.

You will find out exactly what I thought about this book in a minute.  First though, here’s the blurb.

 

Book Blurb

All roads lead home…

When Holly Dryden fled Penhallow Sands nearly a year ago she was determined to put the past – and Rich Turner – behind her. But now an unexpected loss and financial trouble has led her back to the family vineyard and it’s time to tell Rich the truth – he’s a father.

Surrounded by the memories of what they once shared Holly’s anger fades in the glow of Rich’s undeniable love for their son and the way he selflessly steps in to help the vineyard out of trouble. As Holly watches Rich flourish in his new role as father to baby Luke, she realises that though they can’t change the past, the future is still theirs to write…

An uplifting, emotional romance set in Cornwall perfect for fans of Holly Martin and Phillipa Ashley

 

My Review

This book was full of gorgeousness; from the cover which reminded me of a lovely summer’s day to the story itself. I absolutely loved Darcie Boleyn’s style of writing and I really did not want to have to put my kindle down. This was such a relaxing and uplifting read and it ticked all the right boxes for me.

The author’s descriptions of Greenacres were simply divine. I wanted to be there exploring the house, the vineyard and the fields and drinking plenty of wine.

I thought that the characters were wonderful. There wasn’t one that I didn’t like. At times I almost felt as if I was with them. Some of the things Holly’s granny came out with were just hilarious. I thought she coped extremely well after losing her husband. Holly’s granny was such a lovely soul.

Whether Holly decided to stay at Greenacres or return to Exeter, she had to talk to Rich, her ex-boyfriend. He needed to know the truth, that he was a father. Where they would go from there though she really didn’t know. As the days and weeks went by Holly found herself enjoying life at Penhalllow Sands. She had lots of love and support from her family, plus Rich took to fatherhood really well. He absolutely doted on Luke which was nice to see.

Financial troubles at the vineyard helped Holly to make an important decision. She would inherit Greenacres one day and she didn’t want to see its demise. There surely had to be a way to make the vineyard viable.

I don’t want to tell you how the story ended, but suffice to say it was what I wished for and more.

‘The House at Greenacres’ has all the right ingredients. It really is the ideal book to read if you’ve had a bad day. Darcie Boleyn is a wonderful writer and I will definitely be reading more of her books.

~~~~~

‘The House at Greenacres’ is available to purchase from:-

Amazon (UK)

Kobo (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

 

About Darcie Boleyn

Darcie Boleyn has a huge heart and is a real softy. She never fails to cry at books and movies, whether the ending is happy or not. Darcie is in possession of an overactive imagination that often keeps her awake at night. Her childhood dream was to become a Jedi but she hasn’t yet found suitable transport to take her to a galaxy far, far away. She also has reservations about how she’d look in a gold bikini, as she rather enjoys red wine, cheese and loves anything with ginger or cherries in it – especially chocolate. Darcie fell in love in New York, got married in the snow, rescues uncoordinated greyhounds and can usually be found reading or typing away on her laptop.

 

Links

Twitter – https://twitter.com/DarcieBoleyn

 

Post Navigation

%d bloggers like this: