A Lover of Books

Guest Post by Tess Rosa Ruiz

Book Cover

‘Freefall into Us’ by Tess Rosa Ruiz is a compelling collection of unique poetry and prose that provides an emotional mosaic of the path of relationships.  It was published by Urbane Publications Limited on the 11th September 2015.

Below is a guest post written by Tess Rosa Ruiz.

 

~~~~~

In the 80’s, I wrote the author, Stephen King, a letter. You see, he is one of my favorite writers ever and I was a bit obsessed with him, had even thought of going to Bangor, Maine just so I could possibly catch a glimpse of him walking down the road or drinking coffee in his favorite café. The letter wasn’t very nice. He had disappointed me. I didn’t feel his recent work was up to par with the standards I had held him to, with the greatness that he was and is. To my utter surprise, he wrote me back. He told me he was under contract to write three books in a small amount of time and he agreed that his work may not have been his best. He promised me if I would stay with him and not stray, he would be back to his old self. I fell even more in love with him because now to me he was a real person, with real feelings and not just a writing machine pumping out book after book with disregard to his readers. He cared.

He cared enough to not only take the time to respond to me but to respond to me in an apologetic way. In a human way, in a way that I could grasp and understand, with passion. He could have easily told me to go fuck myself. So moved was I by his response, I would sit down a few days later and attempt to write my first short story.

In the early 90’s I became obsessed with the writer Anne Rice. I consumed her Vampire Chronicles and the lives of the Mayfair Witches. But her work as A.N. Roquelaure, The Sleeping Beauty Trilogy, would have a huge impact on me. The beauty of the erotica and the grace and elegance with which she wrote it was not comparable to any work I had ever read. She was in a league all her own. I would be further moved by her bout with alcoholism, her weight, the death of her child. I realized then her writing probably helped heal her, mend her, fill that void. I would have an ah-ha moment over this.

There would be many writers I would fall for over the years. Henry Miller, Raymond Carver, Tom Robbins, Joan Didion, William Styron, Charles Bukowski, Anais Nin, to name a few. They have all inspired much in me.

When I was 16, I took a creative writing class simply because the instructor was a beautiful man. I wrote a lot of poetry and short pieces in that class. My teacher was the inspiration for most of the writing, unbeknownst to him. On the last day of class he pulled me aside after everyone was gone and told me I had a gift, a true gift and that my destiny would be to become a writer. Although it would be many, many years later before I would dig my feet in and plant myself, he had been right.

You have heard many writers say they didn’t choose their profession, it chose them. I don’t choose to spend most days alone, holed up in a café or the confines of my small apartment. I don’t choose to watch every penny, or cancel hair appointments because I didn’t make enough last night waiting tables. I don’t choose to have fits of sadness, anxiety, angst, self-doubt or extreme loneliness. Yes, I miss my daughters and lots of social time with friends. I thought after my marriage ended I would miss being in a relationship, having a partner. I couldn’t imagine going without sex for more than a week. I have been constantly in a relationship since I was 14. I have gone this entire year without a man and the truth is I have never been happier. The truth is, I feel a pull, a need to write, a want, a desire. I feel this is my time. This is my call and right now it prevails over everything else.

Hell, I even took Stephen King’s advice and got rid of my television yesterday. I am excited and I look forward to what 2016 holds in store for me.

 

October 6, 2015
Tess Rosa Ruiz

~~~~~

About Tess Rosa Ruiz

Tessa Rosa Ruiz

Tess Rosa Ruiz hails from a small town in Western Montana. She left for Seattle with two bags and a lot of passion at the age of 19. An established photographer, she met a group of writers from New York and through them, found her voice. Freefall into Us is her first published collection of prose and poetry. She currently resides in Seattle, and has been known to quote Kerouac and sling the finest of wine.

 

~~~~~

Competition

Matthew Smith of Urbane Publications Limited has offered 5 paperback copies of ‘Freefall into Us’ for a giveaway.  To enter just leave a comment telling me what you think of the cover of this book.

Terms and Conditions 

This competition is open worldwide.

The closing date is 11:59 p.m. on the 22nd October 2015.

The winners will be randomly picked and notified of their win within 7 days of the closing date.  Their details will be passed on to Matthew Smith who will send out the prizes.

 

Good Luck! 🙂

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Guest Post by Tess Rosa Ruiz

  1. The book cover is beautiful and evokes the different sides and perspectives of love. Can’t wait to step inside.

    Like

  2. The cover pic draws you in….then you see what’s really there…the 2 face profiles. Very nice. If you’re a book person you will want to read it.

    Like

  3. Melody Ackley on said:

    the cover is beautiful! So much more to see than at first meets the eye .

    Like

  4. Wonderful post. I’m reading at present and loving the emotional ride. Tess manages to connect to the reader with her ‘realness’, and the words above show the strength of truth in her writing. Love her.

    Like

  5. Reblogged this on Tracey-anne's Weblog and commented:
    Review blog post

    Like

  6. I’m not blown away by the cover, but I was by the author’s blog post, so I’d love to read the book.

    Like

  7. it did actually take me a few seconds to realise the picture has two faces in it lol. it does give an air of mystery about it though.

    Like

  8. Anthony Nilsson on said:

    The cover of this great book is a perfect representation of the mystery and intrigue of the characters in the novel. Inside everyone of us is a story, a past, a mystery to most. The shadowed faces depict this past and invite thoughts of our steamy interactions with others who have just as mysterious of a past. Sure to be a real page turner.

    Like

  9. Reblogged this on Recommended book and blog reviews, poetry and tarot inspiration and commented:
    A short which could fill us all with hope and inspiration.My doubts about the humanity of prolific writers now restored

    Like

  10. Sue Harrison on said:

    The cover to me calls to mind the heady first days of romance when both parties meld into each other before the complacency and self doubt bubble their way to the surface and the reality hits home – then comes the time where you discover whether you actually have a relationship or not!!

    Like

  11. Thanks to everyone who entered this competition. I have now randomly picked and notified the winners.

    The lucky winners are:-

    Audrina Lane
    Juli
    Melody Ackley
    Ruth Dugdall
    Sue Harrison

    I hope you all enjoy reading ‘Freefall into Us’.

    Best wishes

    Sonya 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

